Fall French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This soup was yummy overall. However, several things I would change: 1 - The recipe doesn't specify when to add oil, so I added it at the beginning with the butter. 2 - Soup didn't taste salty enough, so added a bit of salt 3 - I would recommend cooking the onions/apples portion for a good 8 hours, and then adding the liquids and cooking for a good four hours. I cooked the liquids for 1 1/2 hours, as outlined in the recipe, and the flavors didn't really get to meld. However, the next day I heated up some leftovers and it was really yummy. So, I think the liquids just need to be cooked longer so the flavors all blend together. 4 - Lastly, I used Vidalia onions in this recipe, but I think next time I'll try red onions. Red onions would compliment the flavor of the apples very well, I think. I also might try using golden delicious apples instead of granny smiths. They added a bit too much tartness to the soup. Overall, a great unique recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I give the original recipe three stars because of the chicken broth. Onion and apple marry well with beef broth, especially if one calls this French Onion Soup, fall twist or not. I made it with beef broth, cut the apple cider to 3/4 cup, and used gala apples so as not to make this too tart. I seasoned the onion/apple mixture with 1 1/2 tsp. of sea salt and fresh ground pepper. I also added a tablespoon of flour to the apple and onion mixture 30 minutes before adding the liquids. I think the brandy was nice, but next time I'll use something that doesn't reduce to such a sweet flavor, like a dark and smoky cabernet. I also omitted the sugar from the bread all together, as I felt this would be too sweet and overpowering to the savory flavors of this soup. I also used a mixture of gruyere and gouda. With these small tweaks this is a 4 1/2 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CelesteD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was really good. I didn't use a slow cooker. I cooked the onions (4 large)in a stick of butter over med-high heat for about 10 minutes, then I added the brandy, let it cook down a minute and added 2 tbsp of flour. I let it cook off for a minute then added the stock and cider. It really did need a bit of salt and pepper to flavor it. The cinnamon on the bread was really good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This onion soup is a winner! It's very good and the cider gives it a nice "autumn" twist. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I wouldn't make this again. The apple taste was too strong for me and husband wouldn't even finish his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Wonderful fall soup!!! I leave out the brandy and use beef broth instead of chicken. It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kewanee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
We thought this was very good, just like our version a little better but this was fun to try! If you are looking for a little different this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
EXCELLANT!! AND EASY TO MAKE THE ONLY THING I ADDED WAS BEEF BOULLION WITH THE CHICKEN BROTH AND LARGE CAESAR STYLE CROUTONS INSTEAD OF PLAIN ITALIAN OR FRENCH BREAD. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
We really enjoyed this soup. It was slightly sweet, slightly tangy, yet still savory (I did add salt and pepper). I used two Vidalias and two white onions, and I made a few minor changes based on personal preference: I grated the apple for a texture that would be consistent with the onions; I used half coconut oil and half butter; I used veg broth; and I omitted the "crouton," instead simmering a cinnamon stick with the onion/apple mixture and adding a splash of pure maple syrup (although next time I'll try it with the bread). Also, I didn't have brandy, so I used Sam Adams Utopias, which has a smoky flavor similar to cognac. I topped the soup with the cheese and let it melt--delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I really wanted to love this recipe, but it was just too strange with the apple cider. I liked the consistency of the apples and onions, next time I would elimate or drastically reduce the apple cider. Had a vinegar type taste with it, plain french onion soup would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vaus2000

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States