Fall French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Teally
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This recipe was good but not fantastic. I'm a huge apple fan so I was hoping for more of a apple flavour. I omitted the oil and just used the butter but next time I might use a little less. I also as other have suggested used beef broth instead of chicken and left the ingredients to marry for 8 hours on low instead of 4 hours on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teally

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Love this recipe - it's a great way to celebrate fall's crisp weather and amazing flavours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanuckChefBexx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Super yummy! I made it and took left overs to work. Left overs are even better. I did use beef stock instead of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Sooo delicious ! Very original with the cinnamon and the apples, tasty! I loved it, Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Yum! I'd change a few things: 1. Use beef broth instead of chicken. It's not a true French Onion with chicken broth. 2. I added 2 tsps of salt, and we still thought it needed a little more. Perhaps the beef broth would help this. 3. The recipe doesn't say when to add the oil. 4. The bandy flavor was very prominent, even after four hours of simmering. I might reduce it to just 1 tbs. I like the unique flavor it adds, but just not quite so strong. 5. The bread done this way was to DIE for. Seriously amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollarhide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I give the original recipe three stars because of the chicken broth. Onion and apple marry well with beef broth, especially if one calls this French Onion Soup, fall twist or not. I made it with beef broth, cut the apple cider to 3/4 cup, and used gala apples so as not to make this too tart. I seasoned the onion/apple mixture with 1 1/2 tsp. of sea salt and fresh ground pepper. I also added a tablespoon of flour to the apple and onion mixture 30 minutes before adding the liquids. I think the brandy was nice, but next time I'll use something that doesn't reduce to such a sweet flavor, like a dark and smoky cabernet. I also omitted the sugar from the bread all together, as I felt this would be too sweet and overpowering to the savory flavors of this soup. I also used a mixture of gruyere and gouda. With these small tweaks this is a 4 1/2 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CelesteD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I wouldn't make this again. The apple taste was too strong for me and husband wouldn't even finish his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I really wanted to love this recipe, but it was just too strange with the apple cider. I liked the consistency of the apples and onions, next time I would elimate or drastically reduce the apple cider. Had a vinegar type taste with it, plain french onion soup would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vaus2000

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Wonderful fall soup!!! I leave out the brandy and use beef broth instead of chicken. It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kewanee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
EXCELLANT!! AND EASY TO MAKE THE ONLY THING I ADDED WAS BEEF BOULLION WITH THE CHICKEN BROTH AND LARGE CAESAR STYLE CROUTONS INSTEAD OF PLAIN ITALIAN OR FRENCH BREAD. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States