Falafel I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I modified this recipe slightly, but I don't know why so many others had such a problem with the mixture staying together. What helped me, was I placed in a food processor everything except the chickpeas and the egg. The peanut butter mixture made a good paste. I added 2 TBSP of oat flour, then the chickpeas and egg. I pulsed the chickpeas until they were broken but not too pasty, like a lumpy oatmeal. I then formed them into misshapen balls/patties and cooked as directed. They were superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Love the touch of peanut butter in these! Great taste! I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This did taste a little different than most falafel I've had, but my husband and I liked it better. It was also more filling than other falafel, maybe because of the peanut butter? I omitted the cumin because he hates cumin. I was afraid they wouldn't stay into balls because of the other reviews, so after I shaped them, I patted them with flour before frying, and they held their shape fine. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This recipe is a great start for falafel. I added additional spices of celery salt, much more garam marsala, (as I had no coriander on hand and it contains coriander AND cumin.) Lots of black pepper, and some gluten free bread crumbs finished this off nicely. I also let is sit in the fridge for awhile before frying, it helps firm it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
I guess I should have read the reviews before making this. On the positive side, this recipe was extremely easy and quick to make, it smelled and tasted wonderful and I will definitely make it again. As others have mentioned, however, the mixture was not solid enough to form into balls so I had to take away a star for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
The flavor of this falafel is great! I didn't have any eggs so I decided to try this recipe. After I made the "dough" I tested one in the skillet and it started to fall apart before it was done. So, I stuck the rest of the balls in the freezer for 20 minutes and they fried up perfrectly. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
great flavor, but I added 4 cups of bread crumbs to be able to make into patties and fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIELB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I, like other reviewers, tried other things to get these things to stick together enough to form into "balls." I tried adding quick oats to some - don't recommend that. I didn't find adding extra peanut butter made the "dough" more managable. Ultimately I doubled the garbonzo beans: that seemed to work best. I upped the spices to compensate. These taste delicious w/ tzatziki (cucumber) sauce. I might try a less messy falafel recipe next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
Mine came out a little thin, so I thickened it with more peanut butter and some soy flour to get a dough-like consistency. (Great way to up the protein content even more!) I also upped the spices to compensate. It came out very good! (I used crunchy peanut butter because I like the texture). Note that this recipe makes approximately 40 individual balls, with four or five filling up one pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Didn't care for the texture or the peanut butter or soy sauce addition. They don't belong here. The person asking about the "burger" type of mediterranean food is probably looking to make Kefta - which uses ground beef, parsley, onion, cumin , salt and pepper formed into small oval patties, cooked and placed in the pita with tomatoes, cucumber and tahini dressing/sauce. Falafel is made with chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States