Falafel I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
Mine came out a little thin, so I thickened it with more peanut butter and some soy flour to get a dough-like consistency. (Great way to up the protein content even more!) I also upped the spices to compensate. It came out very good! (I used crunchy peanut butter because I like the texture). Note that this recipe makes approximately 40 individual balls, with four or five filling up one pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
This recipe was very good. The recipe should be more specific regarding the use of creamy peanut butter. If you use a chunky peanut butter you get too much of a peanut concentration in your falafel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
The flavor was perfect but no matter what i did, it was too thin and wouldn't stay in a ball
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
I guess I should have read the reviews before making this. On the positive side, this recipe was extremely easy and quick to make, it smelled and tasted wonderful and I will definitely make it again. As others have mentioned, however, the mixture was not solid enough to form into balls so I had to take away a star for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This recipe is a great start for falafel. I added additional spices of celery salt, much more garam marsala, (as I had no coriander on hand and it contains coriander AND cumin.) Lots of black pepper, and some gluten free bread crumbs finished this off nicely. I also let is sit in the fridge for awhile before frying, it helps firm it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
great flavor, but I added 4 cups of bread crumbs to be able to make into patties and fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIELB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
As with all recipes, there is always critcism....this recipe lacks flavor and body. It was a good start, but required an awful lot of tweaking to get both a good flavor and consistency. I added a bit more coriander and some curry powder (as the pantry was lacking garam masala), and some bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
After reading the top few reviews, I made some adjustments (of course). The crumbliness of the falafel is easily solved by adding an extra egg. Simple and effective. I did the following for spices: 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp cayenne, 1/4 tsp garam masala, and 3 heaping tsp's of bread crumbs. I actually forgot the onion altogether but it wasn't a big deal. I cooked the falafel and put it smashed in a wrap with romaine lettuce, diced roma tomatoes, plenty of yellow onion, and 1000 island dressing. Would make it this way again, for sure. I only rated 3 stars because, well, I made so many changes, I didn't really eat the product of the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HopHead
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
The flavour of these falafel was different than any falafel I've had, but very, very good. I love the spiciness of them! Based on other people's comments of being too runny, I tried mashing the chickpeas like other recipes suggest, hoping they would be thicker and stick together better. I still had no luck :o( A few of them kind of stayed together, and the rest just ended up as tiny scattered fried pieces. They still worked in a pita, but were not balls by any means!!! The difficulty in preparation is the only reason I gave this recipe 3 stars; otherwise, it was very good. ( I did leave out the cilantro!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Way too thin. Could not have made a ball out of it if I wanted. Excellent flavor. Just poured it into the pan, and fried it. Looking for something more like a Burger. Any ideas????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States