Falafel I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
The flavor of this falafel is great! I didn't have any eggs so I decided to try this recipe. After I made the "dough" I tested one in the skillet and it started to fall apart before it was done. So, I stuck the rest of the balls in the freezer for 20 minutes and they fried up perfrectly. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I have other falafel recipes I like, but I thought I would try this one as I was wanting to make falafel without breadcrumbs to decrease the carbs. I did not alter the recipe, and mine seemed to stick together fine. I always bake falafel instead of frying it, so maybe they would have fallen apart during the frying process. They did fine in the oven--I think I had them in at 400 degrees for 15 or so minutes. I wasn't big on the taste, though. The peanut butter was too strong. Though I normally put a tahini sauce on falafel, I did not like the tahini-ish taste being IN the falafel. It just seemed weird. Maybe I would have liked them in a pita, but I crumbled the falafel into a salad and just wasn't real impressed with the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I, like other reviewers, tried other things to get these things to stick together enough to form into "balls." I tried adding quick oats to some - don't recommend that. I didn't find adding extra peanut butter made the "dough" more managable. Ultimately I doubled the garbonzo beans: that seemed to work best. I upped the spices to compensate. These taste delicious w/ tzatziki (cucumber) sauce. I might try a less messy falafel recipe next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Ugh. Perhaps it is my cooking skills, but I had a terrible time trying to keep the falafel balls together. We had falfel mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This recipe is a great start for falafel. I added additional spices of celery salt, much more garam marsala, (as I had no coriander on hand and it contains coriander AND cumin.) Lots of black pepper, and some gluten free bread crumbs finished this off nicely. I also let is sit in the fridge for awhile before frying, it helps firm it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
great flavor, but I added 4 cups of bread crumbs to be able to make into patties and fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIELB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
I guess I should have read the reviews before making this. On the positive side, this recipe was extremely easy and quick to make, it smelled and tasted wonderful and I will definitely make it again. As others have mentioned, however, the mixture was not solid enough to form into balls so I had to take away a star for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
As with all recipes, there is always critcism....this recipe lacks flavor and body. It was a good start, but required an awful lot of tweaking to get both a good flavor and consistency. I added a bit more coriander and some curry powder (as the pantry was lacking garam masala), and some bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
The flavour of these falafel was different than any falafel I've had, but very, very good. I love the spiciness of them! Based on other people's comments of being too runny, I tried mashing the chickpeas like other recipes suggest, hoping they would be thicker and stick together better. I still had no luck :o( A few of them kind of stayed together, and the rest just ended up as tiny scattered fried pieces. They still worked in a pita, but were not balls by any means!!! The difficulty in preparation is the only reason I gave this recipe 3 stars; otherwise, it was very good. ( I did leave out the cilantro!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Way too thin. Could not have made a ball out of it if I wanted. Excellent flavor. Just poured it into the pan, and fried it. Looking for something more like a Burger. Any ideas????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States