Falafel I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This is similar to an original Jewish recipe I have but you must add 1/2 cup breadcrumbs or barley to it or it will fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
The flavor of this falafel is great! I didn't have any eggs so I decided to try this recipe. After I made the "dough" I tested one in the skillet and it started to fall apart before it was done. So, I stuck the rest of the balls in the freezer for 20 minutes and they fried up perfrectly. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I have other falafel recipes I like, but I thought I would try this one as I was wanting to make falafel without breadcrumbs to decrease the carbs. I did not alter the recipe, and mine seemed to stick together fine. I always bake falafel instead of frying it, so maybe they would have fallen apart during the frying process. They did fine in the oven--I think I had them in at 400 degrees for 15 or so minutes. I wasn't big on the taste, though. The peanut butter was too strong. Though I normally put a tahini sauce on falafel, I did not like the tahini-ish taste being IN the falafel. It just seemed weird. Maybe I would have liked them in a pita, but I crumbled the falafel into a salad and just wasn't real impressed with the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I, like other reviewers, tried other things to get these things to stick together enough to form into "balls." I tried adding quick oats to some - don't recommend that. I didn't find adding extra peanut butter made the "dough" more managable. Ultimately I doubled the garbonzo beans: that seemed to work best. I upped the spices to compensate. These taste delicious w/ tzatziki (cucumber) sauce. I might try a less messy falafel recipe next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Ugh. Perhaps it is my cooking skills, but I had a terrible time trying to keep the falafel balls together. We had falfel mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This recipe is a great start for falafel. I added additional spices of celery salt, much more garam marsala, (as I had no coriander on hand and it contains coriander AND cumin.) Lots of black pepper, and some gluten free bread crumbs finished this off nicely. I also let is sit in the fridge for awhile before frying, it helps firm it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
great flavor, but I added 4 cups of bread crumbs to be able to make into patties and fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIELB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
I guess I should have read the reviews before making this. On the positive side, this recipe was extremely easy and quick to make, it smelled and tasted wonderful and I will definitely make it again. As others have mentioned, however, the mixture was not solid enough to form into balls so I had to take away a star for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
As with all recipes, there is always critcism....this recipe lacks flavor and body. It was a good start, but required an awful lot of tweaking to get both a good flavor and consistency. I added a bit more coriander and some curry powder (as the pantry was lacking garam masala), and some bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
The flavour of these falafel was different than any falafel I've had, but very, very good. I love the spiciness of them! Based on other people's comments of being too runny, I tried mashing the chickpeas like other recipes suggest, hoping they would be thicker and stick together better. I still had no luck :o( A few of them kind of stayed together, and the rest just ended up as tiny scattered fried pieces. They still worked in a pita, but were not balls by any means!!! The difficulty in preparation is the only reason I gave this recipe 3 stars; otherwise, it was very good. ( I did leave out the cilantro!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States