Falafel I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I modified this recipe slightly, but I don't know why so many others had such a problem with the mixture staying together. What helped me, was I placed in a food processor everything except the chickpeas and the egg. The peanut butter mixture made a good paste. I added 2 TBSP of oat flour, then the chickpeas and egg. I pulsed the chickpeas until they were broken but not too pasty, like a lumpy oatmeal. I then formed them into misshapen balls/patties and cooked as directed. They were superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was not like falafel at all. More like chickpea pancake. I added extra beans, more spices, and 1/2 c flour and finally got the dough to come together. i think the omission of peanut butter in the future might help, but I REALLY wish people would rate a recipe low if it doesn't work when one follows the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Wonderful texture but lacks flavor. I add lemon juice & bread crumbs. I also threw little of cumin then it tasted like 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RadSuz5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This did taste a little different than most falafel I've had, but my husband and I liked it better. It was also more filling than other falafel, maybe because of the peanut butter? I omitted the cumin because he hates cumin. I was afraid they wouldn't stay into balls because of the other reviews, so after I shaped them, I patted them with flour before frying, and they held their shape fine. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
After reading the top few reviews, I made some adjustments (of course). The crumbliness of the falafel is easily solved by adding an extra egg. Simple and effective. I did the following for spices: 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp cayenne, 1/4 tsp garam masala, and 3 heaping tsp's of bread crumbs. I actually forgot the onion altogether but it wasn't a big deal. I cooked the falafel and put it smashed in a wrap with romaine lettuce, diced roma tomatoes, plenty of yellow onion, and 1000 island dressing. Would make it this way again, for sure. I only rated 3 stars because, well, I made so many changes, I didn't really eat the product of the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HopHead
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Didn't care for the texture or the peanut butter or soy sauce addition. They don't belong here. The person asking about the "burger" type of mediterranean food is probably looking to make Kefta - which uses ground beef, parsley, onion, cumin , salt and pepper formed into small oval patties, cooked and placed in the pita with tomatoes, cucumber and tahini dressing/sauce. Falafel is made with chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
The flavor of these were not great - I think it was the peanut butter. Whatever it was, it seemed like all the flavors were at war in my mouth. I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
It was nasty, tasted nothing like falafel and soy sauce and peanut butter dont belong in there. I threw it out. Also this is an arabic middle eastern dish, not jewish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Airmont, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
There's far too much water in the resulting batter. Thickening it with peanut butter, flour and bread crumbs just gives us a peanut butter-flavored mush when it's cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This is similar to an original Jewish recipe I have but you must add 1/2 cup breadcrumbs or barley to it or it will fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States