Faken (Veggie Bacon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
WONDERFUL!!! It tastes excellent with mushrooms :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Delicious! I don't really know if it actually tastes like bacon because I haven't had it in a while (my roommate said it tastes more like sausage). I made this to go on a salad and it went really well. I think it would also be good as a protein base for a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
WOW! This stuff is great, I’ve been a vegetarian going on seven years and have been looking for a good side dish for an omelet. The maple syrup caramelizes to give a crispy texture (I added a little more than the recipe called for) and the liquid smoked gave it kind of a bacon flavor. Even my decidedly carnivorous boyfriend wolfed it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
These were delicious. My vegan boyfriend is a big skeptic of tofu that's "pretending" to be meat, but he was surprised by how good it was. I used Wildwood tofu, which is super firm and comes in a vacuum sealed package, rather than a box and it was perfect for it! Next time I'll have to try it with the liquid smoke. I also think I'll up the saltiness and decrease the sweet to make it more how I like bacon. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This is really good as a tofu breakfast meat, but it honestly doesn't satisfy my craving for real bacon. I would recommend doubling the marinade, and marinating it overnight. When I tried frying it, the sauce went all sticky and messy and the pieces fell apart. The second time I baked them at 375 for 15 minutes on each side, and liberally sprayed the tofu sides with pam. Turned out crispy and meaty the second time around in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This was very good - even my picky daughter enjoyed them. Although I must admit I altered it slightly. First I doubled the recipe of the marinade. Then I added extra syrup, 1 tsp. liquid smoke, (I couldn't get organic, nonGMO smoked tofu) plus a tbsp. of br. sugar. I greased a jelly roll pan with grapeseed oil ( it doesn't alter when cooked at high temperatures like other oils do). I baked them at 350F for about 30 minutes, turning them every 5 minutes, and basting them with the extra marinade. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
It did not resemble bacon in any way but was good nonetheless. I used fresh regular extra firm tofu cause I couldn't find frozen smoked and sorghum instead of maple syrup which is too sweet. Also thought the name of the recipe quite cute, but I don't get why vegetarians try to "pretend" to be meat-eaters or look for substitutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
all in all, not bad. Obviously, nothing's going to be EXACTLY like bacon, but if you go in knowing that, you are going to come out with a delicious sandwich "meat" for a blt, or for a scramble. Very good overall. I love the salty smokey maple flavor, and it made our home smell like we were cooking bacon! Also, it's nice not to be a total slave to the processed, frozen, expensive meat substitutes that are sold at the market. I will make again - maybe tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I've been a vegetarian for about eight years so it's been a while since I've had real bacon. According to memory, this stuff does not taste like bacon, but I actually really enjoyed it. It has a nice smoked taste. It smelled like maple syrup at first when cooking but does not taste at all like it when it is done. I made it to use in some breakfast pockets so I needed it to be in little pieces. It was a little bit difficult to get the tofu into proper strips, even more so to flip them. I ended up breaking it apart since that's the way I needed them to be anyway. It was fast and easy to make and tasted great in the breakfast pockets. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Faken (Veggie Bacon)

See how to turn marinated smoked tofu into crispy veggie bacon!

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States