Fajita Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I mixed this with with about 1/4 c. olive oil, 1/4 c, lemon juice, 2 T. soy sauce, and 1 T. vinegar and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This was awesome! I omitted the corn starch because I'm on a low-carb diet and it still was just absolutely phenomenal. I'll be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
EXCELLENT!!! Easy, quick to make ahead of time and have on hand, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made this recipe as is. Used about 1.5 bell pepper, 1lg onion, and 1lb of chicken breast. I sauteed the veggies first, then the chicken, both in a little oil. When the chicken was nearly done I added the veggies back in and added the seasoning (entire recipe) w/ about 3/4c of water and covered. I cooked it on medium high for about 7min. The cornstarch thickened it really well, and the cumin was not overwhelming. The spice was barely medium - you could omit or cut back the cayenne if you are sensitive to heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Such a great alternative to the over-salted fluorescent packages you buy at the store! I love that you can cut down the salt or kick up the heat as suits your tastes. I made this exactly as written this first time (just tripled) and loved it. After browning 2 sliced chicken breasts I added two very heaping tablespoons of seasoning with maybe 1/4 cup water and finished cooking the chicken while the sauce reduced, then I added back in previously sauted green pepper, red pepper and onion and finally a tomato at the very end. Delish! This is a keeper, and if you like the idea of making your own mixes, I highly suggest checking out Bill Enchols' Taco Seasoning I from this site. Now I'm all set, no more packets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This was very easy to make. Had the seasonings on hand. Made two separate batches and added a 1/4 cup water to each and then marinates separately beef and chicken while I cut up onions and various peppers. Husband liked it and he is very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perryville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Crystal City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I wasn't sure about the necessity of cornstarch in this spice mix but because other, similar, recipes on the web called for it, and because I marinated the meat (I used strip steak and shrimp) in the seasoning along with a little olive oil and a dribble of water I felt more comfortable. In deference to Hubs' sensitive innards I omitted the cayenne which was no hardship as far as I'm concerned. I just substituted some fresh ground pepper. I used this for the seasoning called for in Spicy Beef Fajitas, also from this site. Having now eaten the dish I used this seasoning for, I have no more doubts about it...and only wish I would not have listened to Hubs and made more than the amount of fajitas he insisted was plenty for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I made this exactly as is and have some stored so it's very handy! I also do a lot of freezer cooking so I cut up my chicken and steak strips, put in 2 heaping TBSP of seasoning, juice of 1 lime, and 1/8 cup corn oil and froze it in its own marinade. The results are wonderful and can thaw in the fridge if you take it out the night before, no need to add any kind of oil to sauté the onions and peppers in because there is enough left over from doing the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This was absolutely delicious!! I took 2 VERY large chicken breasts (about 2 lbs total), placed in a plastic bag, added 3T lemon juice and 2T vegetable oil, along with this seasoning exactly as written (I used the entire amount). Marinated the chicken in the refrigerator for an hour, then cooked in a saucepan with chopped red onion and bell pepper. It was absolutely DELICIOUS!! This will be my new go-to seasoning mix for fajitas!!! Perfect mixture of spices - not too spicy, not too mild!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I used this last night and it was orgasmic! I made a large batch to keep for other times. I used 7tbsp of this mix for 4 chicken breasts worth or fajita mix. It may be too pungent for some people at that ratio but i like a nice heavy spiced taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States