Fairy Godmother Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I have to admit I wasn't sure about this recipe, but I needed a side dish and I had printed this one a while back. I thought the 2 envelopes of onion soup mix might be too much, but boy was I wrong. This was very good. It has a nice blend of flavors and textures. The crispy noodles on top and the water chestnuts add the right amount of crunch. My husband told me he wouldn't mind if I made this once a week!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
Loved this dish! I left out the water chestnuts because none of us care for them, and I used vermicelli, broken into small pieces instead of the thin egg noodles. This recipe is going to be part of my regular rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
This rice has a mild but delicious flavor It is a great side dish when you're serving other dominant flavors. The recipe as followed makes a very large amount enough for a big crowd. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I have made this twice now for dinner guests, and they always rave about it. My family loves it as well. They call it my 'homemade Rice-A-Roni', and will not eat the boxed version anymore! This dish is MUCH better! When making it for a dinner party, I make it the day before. I under cook it by several minutes, let it cool, cover it, and stick it in the refrigerator. An hour before I am ready to serve it, I take it out of the refrigerator, and let it get to room temp. Then I pour about 1 cup of extra broth all over the top of the rice to moisten it. Cover with foil, and cook at 350 for 20-25 minutes. Check for heat and doneness, adding more broth if needed. Comes out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Really tasty side dish if you don't mind the high-sodium content. :) I halved the butter, used jasmine rice instead of instant, & added 1 lb fresh mushrooms (sauteed). We loved the results! The rice cooked up perfectly fluffy & flavorful. This was a great addition to the Christmas table. Will be making it again! Thank you for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is a great side! I just happened to have everything on hand for this and was looking for an easy side to make. The only thing I changed was using rice vinegar instead of the soy sauce (I was out of soy) We all enjoyed it. Thanks Ryan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
I wanted to love this recipe. Afterall, fairygodmother rice is a great name. Unfortunately, it's onion-flavored rice with crispy noodles. I halved the butter & soup mix; & used instant brown rice. It was okay the first night. The rest was put into soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
A delish dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I was surprised at what a hit this was at our house. I hardly ever use instant rice, preferring the real stuff in both taste and texture, but there is so much additional flavor going on here that I didn't even notice it was instant. I did add too much soy and that taste was a little over powering. The soup mix was a nice touch and I will make this again for sure. My picky husband even liked it and he hates rice. Thanks Ryan for a great easy recipe that isn't from a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
tasty - very different and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States