Fairy Godmother Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I have to admit I wasn't sure about this recipe, but I needed a side dish and I had printed this one a while back. I thought the 2 envelopes of onion soup mix might be too much, but boy was I wrong. This was very good. It has a nice blend of flavors and textures. The crispy noodles on top and the water chestnuts add the right amount of crunch. My husband told me he wouldn't mind if I made this once a week!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
Loved this dish! I left out the water chestnuts because none of us care for them, and I used vermicelli, broken into small pieces instead of the thin egg noodles. This recipe is going to be part of my regular rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
This rice has a mild but delicious flavor It is a great side dish when you're serving other dominant flavors. The recipe as followed makes a very large amount enough for a big crowd. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I have made this twice now for dinner guests, and they always rave about it. My family loves it as well. They call it my 'homemade Rice-A-Roni', and will not eat the boxed version anymore! This dish is MUCH better! When making it for a dinner party, I make it the day before. I under cook it by several minutes, let it cool, cover it, and stick it in the refrigerator. An hour before I am ready to serve it, I take it out of the refrigerator, and let it get to room temp. Then I pour about 1 cup of extra broth all over the top of the rice to moisten it. Cover with foil, and cook at 350 for 20-25 minutes. Check for heat and doneness, adding more broth if needed. Comes out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Really tasty side dish if you don't mind the high-sodium content. :) I halved the butter, used jasmine rice instead of instant, & added 1 lb fresh mushrooms (sauteed). We loved the results! The rice cooked up perfectly fluffy & flavorful. This was a great addition to the Christmas table. Will be making it again! Thank you for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is a great side! I just happened to have everything on hand for this and was looking for an easy side to make. The only thing I changed was using rice vinegar instead of the soy sauce (I was out of soy) We all enjoyed it. Thanks Ryan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
I wanted to love this recipe. Afterall, fairygodmother rice is a great name. Unfortunately, it's onion-flavored rice with crispy noodles. I halved the butter & soup mix; & used instant brown rice. It was okay the first night. The rest was put into soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
A delish dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I was surprised at what a hit this was at our house. I hardly ever use instant rice, preferring the real stuff in both taste and texture, but there is so much additional flavor going on here that I didn't even notice it was instant. I did add too much soy and that taste was a little over powering. The soup mix was a nice touch and I will make this again for sure. My picky husband even liked it and he hates rice. Thanks Ryan for a great easy recipe that isn't from a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
tasty - very different and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States