Fairy Godmother Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
My family loved this side dish. It was really tasty. I used quick brown rice instead of the white rice. I, too, could not find thin egg noodles so I used angel hair pasta that I broke up into short pieces. Almost everyone had two helpings of this dish. One of my daughters does not like onions, so she said she would make it with beef broth and just one package of onion soup mix if she were going to make it. I will definately be making this recipe for company. Thanks Ryan for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
my family loved it, especially my 10 yr old son! i made it two nights in a row at friend/family gathering and people from both nights were there and still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
Loved this dish! I left out the water chestnuts because none of us care for them, and I used vermicelli, broken into small pieces instead of the thin egg noodles. This recipe is going to be part of my regular rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
This was great - I left out the soy sauce and used brown rice. My husband loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
I wanted to love this recipe. Afterall, fairygodmother rice is a great name. Unfortunately, it's onion-flavored rice with crispy noodles. I halved the butter & soup mix; & used instant brown rice. It was okay the first night. The rest was put into soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I was surprised at what a hit this was at our house. I hardly ever use instant rice, preferring the real stuff in both taste and texture, but there is so much additional flavor going on here that I didn't even notice it was instant. I did add too much soy and that taste was a little over powering. The soup mix was a nice touch and I will make this again for sure. My picky husband even liked it and he hates rice. Thanks Ryan for a great easy recipe that isn't from a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
This is one of those dishes that is really good for 1 or 2 servings, but it's so strong that you get sick of it FAST. I got compliments from my family, but no one ate the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
I was not impressed with this dish. The flavor was okay, but the texture was odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I used chicken flavored bullion cubes for the vegtable broth. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I have to admit I wasn't sure about this recipe, but I needed a side dish and I had printed this one a while back. I thought the 2 envelopes of onion soup mix might be too much, but boy was I wrong. This was very good. It has a nice blend of flavors and textures. The crispy noodles on top and the water chestnuts add the right amount of crunch. My husband told me he wouldn't mind if I made this once a week!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States