Fairy Godmother Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Very good, but too salty. Next time maybe I'll use chopped onions instead of onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Great! My husband really liked this; next time I make this I will exclude the water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was very good and received rave reviews from my family. I made it exactly from the recipe and it was delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittycat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Really tasty side dish if you don't mind the high-sodium content. :) I halved the butter, used jasmine rice instead of instant, & added 1 lb fresh mushrooms (sauteed). We loved the results! The rice cooked up perfectly fluffy & flavorful. This was a great addition to the Christmas table. Will be making it again! Thank you for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Used 1 T light butter to sautee the angel hair in and it still turned out awesome. I could have eaten the whole dish. Hint: you can buy broken angel hair in the hispanic sections of most grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Something different but very good, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This dish was very salty. Not horrible, but not worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I'm sorry I let this recipe sit in my box so long without making it. This was excellect. My picky middle child went back for fourths!!! I didnt have thin egg noodles so I used wide and really liked the difference in sizes. I also left out the water chestnuts since I'm really not crazy about them. I prepped and added it all an hour before I popped it in the oven so it took less time. I also covered it because my oven burns anything I dont. 100 stars all the way (per my 3 kids). This does actually make about 10 normal servings. Next time I will cut it in half for out family of 5. This went well with baked jerk chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I was hoping this was going to be good, well we didn't like it at all. I think it was salty and my noodles didn't stay crispy. To bad because it sounded good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Cox

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I'm glad I came across this recipe. If you like Rice-A-Roni, this is your home made version of that dish. I happen to like it and my favorite part about this dish were the different textures. The rice, the noodles (I used Vermicelli) and the crunchiness of the Water Chestnuts provide that. I did cut down on the butter and used 5 tbs. instead. The area that I feel could be improved upon is the flavor, the dry onion mix gives it a subtle flavor but I think that it could be better by adding diced celery, parsley, and/or other herbs and spices. Be careful with the salt! I used 1 1/2 pkg. of Onion soup mix. I'm interested to play with that part of the recipe next time because it has potential to be great but this is still extraordinary as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States