Fairy Godmother Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was good and better than the packaged flavored rices but really nothing to rave about. We found it too salty, even though I used low sodium soy sauce. I think maybe 2 packages of soup mix is just too much. It was also quite greasy. I might try this again using only 1 package of soup and 1/4 cup of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Tried this last night. The family liked it but I'm only giving it 4 stars because I thought that it was a bit too buttery. If I make this again in the future, I will cut down the amount of butter. I used broken spaghetti as another reviewer suggested and used instant brown rice and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Photo by belle
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I would give this 3.5 stars if I could. It was not terrible, but it just wasn't on the money, could have been better. I have eaten something like this at a brunch before and it was much better. But I did eat it so it wasn't horrible and it def. is an inexpensive recipe that makes a very large quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I have made this twice now for dinner guests, and they always rave about it. My family loves it as well. They call it my 'homemade Rice-A-Roni', and will not eat the boxed version anymore! This dish is MUCH better! When making it for a dinner party, I make it the day before. I under cook it by several minutes, let it cool, cover it, and stick it in the refrigerator. An hour before I am ready to serve it, I take it out of the refrigerator, and let it get to room temp. Then I pour about 1 cup of extra broth all over the top of the rice to moisten it. Cover with foil, and cook at 350 for 20-25 minutes. Check for heat and doneness, adding more broth if needed. Comes out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is a great side! I just happened to have everything on hand for this and was looking for an easy side to make. The only thing I changed was using rice vinegar instead of the soy sauce (I was out of soy) We all enjoyed it. Thanks Ryan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
love it...my kids do too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
This turned out perfect. It was so tasty. I used Beef Broth instead of Vegetable Broth and I added half a can of crushed tomatoes because I had an open can in the fridge. I also only used one package of onion soup mix. Next time I might add more tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I make this alot, I use different broths to change the taste and top it with holadaise sause. It taste really great leftover too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
My family liked it. I did not have the onion soup, so I just put in some spices and I put in mushrooms. I served it with ribs. It was a nice change from normal rice. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Not usually fans of Box-a-Roni type side dishes, the family enjoyed this recipe. Scaled down the measurements by half and found the rice was done after 30 minutes. Next time I'll add some frozen peas and/or mushrooms. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States