Fairy Godmother Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
So much to love about this rice. Wonderful flavors, crunch and it is pretty. The leftovers are even better. I do need to be low sodium so instead of the rice mix and dried onion soup mix I mixed wild and long grain rice, chopped onion, parsley and used low sodium beef boullion to reduce the sodium content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
The rice (I used brown rice) did not cook through, so there was a crunchy gross texture. Did I just not see something in the directions about the rice? I was hoping this would be as I remembered ricearoni...very displeased. If I missed a step, please advise, I'd like to try it again. I followed it to a t.????confused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
My whole family loves this. Does well at potlucks. I used about 1/2 or less of the butter. Full amount is too much, leaves a greasy feeling in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I thought this was too salty and I wasn't a big fan of the combinations this dish put together. My boyfriend on the other hand loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is such a great side dish for nights you're in a hurry! I made no variations, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Like so many others, I found it too salty, even though I left out the soy sauce. I refrigerated the left overs with a cut up raw potato mixed in and it was fine the next day after the potato absorbed some of the excess saltiness. Next time I will add less onion soup mix and put in more spices such as onions, celery, etc. and it should be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I am making this right now, and some other reviwers said it was too salty so I only added one packet of onion soup.. but I just tried it and it wasn't cooked enough/nor nearly flavorful enough, so I added the second packet and some extra water. I added one small chopped onion and some chopped baby carrots for more veggies and I didn't have noodles or water chestnuts so they got left out. I think this will be an interesting side dish that can be altered in cool ways!! I will continue the review in about 20 min when I retest it :) ok... so with the extra packet of soup, AND liberal soy sauce.. this finally has some flavor.. I don't know if I will make this again, but maybe! I think this would be better with the noodles..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
My family really enjoyed this dish. I used chicken broth and served it with stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
this rice is delish! i cut the recipe in half and would probably leave out the soy next time. just a wee bit too salty when added. i wasn't expecting much but this was a really great side dish. will definitly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I halved the recipe. I used homemade dry onion soup mix in which I used low sodium beef bouillon (see this site for recipe). I added diced carrots and I think it would benefit from fresh mushrooms. I subbed water for half the broth and used beef broth. I used thin spaghetti, broken up and instant brown rice. I did not add extra salt and even with the low sodium bouillon it was mildly salty. I most likely will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States