Fairy Godmother Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
The rice (I used brown rice) did not cook through, so there was a crunchy gross texture. Did I just not see something in the directions about the rice? I was hoping this would be as I remembered ricearoni...very displeased. If I missed a step, please advise, I'd like to try it again. I followed it to a t.????confused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
My whole family loves this. Does well at potlucks. I used about 1/2 or less of the butter. Full amount is too much, leaves a greasy feeling in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I thought this was too salty and I wasn't a big fan of the combinations this dish put together. My boyfriend on the other hand loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is such a great side dish for nights you're in a hurry! I made no variations, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Like so many others, I found it too salty, even though I left out the soy sauce. I refrigerated the left overs with a cut up raw potato mixed in and it was fine the next day after the potato absorbed some of the excess saltiness. Next time I will add less onion soup mix and put in more spices such as onions, celery, etc. and it should be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I am making this right now, and some other reviwers said it was too salty so I only added one packet of onion soup.. but I just tried it and it wasn't cooked enough/nor nearly flavorful enough, so I added the second packet and some extra water. I added one small chopped onion and some chopped baby carrots for more veggies and I didn't have noodles or water chestnuts so they got left out. I think this will be an interesting side dish that can be altered in cool ways!! I will continue the review in about 20 min when I retest it :) ok... so with the extra packet of soup, AND liberal soy sauce.. this finally has some flavor.. I don't know if I will make this again, but maybe! I think this would be better with the noodles..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
My family really enjoyed this dish. I used chicken broth and served it with stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
this rice is delish! i cut the recipe in half and would probably leave out the soy next time. just a wee bit too salty when added. i wasn't expecting much but this was a really great side dish. will definitly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I halved the recipe. I used homemade dry onion soup mix in which I used low sodium beef bouillon (see this site for recipe). I added diced carrots and I think it would benefit from fresh mushrooms. I subbed water for half the broth and used beef broth. I used thin spaghetti, broken up and instant brown rice. I did not add extra salt and even with the low sodium bouillon it was mildly salty. I most likely will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Very good, but too salty. Next time maybe I'll use chopped onions instead of onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States