Fairy Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I followed the recipe's directions exactly (except for the pan size), and it turned out perfectly. The candy tastes just like the fairy food that I remember from my childhood. I added the baking soda at exactly 300 degrees, and only stirred three or four times (once the baking soda was added) before pouring into a 9 x 13 pan lined with non-stick foil. The candy set up rather quickly, and popped right out of the foil. I did dip the candy into high-quality chocolate that I melted in a double boiler with just a teaspoon of shortening added. I will definitely make this candy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
:( Wyocat was right, at 300 the temp shoots right up. Everything was going along nicely, I dumped the baking soda in at 300 stirred and turned to pour into the dish and I noticed a funny smell. The candy was orange and then it hit me, I BURNED IT! Ugh. I really wanted to try this and I just happened to have some corn syrup at home. Now I have a disgusting mess and an awful smell. I give 3 stars because I burned it (not the recipe's fault) and because the instructions weren't clear enough for me. I'll try again after I get more corn syrup at the store and hopefully I can give more stars. *Update* :( Very unhappy now, I made a trip to the store and bought more corn syrup after the first batch failed. I made a couple of adjustments to see if I could do this right. I heated the sugar to about 270 and removed it from the heat and stirred in the sifted baking soda. Closer to what I think it is supposed to be, the stench has lifted in my house but again, IT BURNED! I'm getting grumpy about this one. ***UPDATE*** Third time must be the charm. Removed it from the heat at 260, added in the baking soda. Stirred really well and dumped into the dish. Still kinda orange but since it tasted just fine I assume that's the way it's supposed to be. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
I think this recipe calls for TOO MUCH BAKING SODA! I'd decrease it to 1 TBSP. like all the other recipes for sponge candy I found. I think 1.5 TBSP. makes it taste "off". Also, I used a 9x13x2" Pyrex dish and the foam was about 4" high! The air bubbles were so large that it totally crumbled when I cut into it. There was no way this would ever be able to be dipped in chocolate. Be sure to watch the candy thermometer very carefully, as it seems to rapidly increase in temperature at 300. Mine got the tiniest bit too done and tasted burned; so, on top of the soda taste, was just awful. Not sure what to do with this mess. But, do try reducing the baking soda if you try making this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAVIDIMM
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I used to live in Wisconsin, and this recipe was awesome!! We made it the first time when we were kids, and our parents weren't home.... freaked us out (we couldn't figure out at first why you needed a large pot). We just spead it out on a big cookie sheet, and then broke it up. The less baking soda, the better. When I moved down to Alabama, I tried making the exact same recipe (it was one of my favorites) about 5 times before realizing that the humidity was screwing it up. So the people who posted the negative reviews might take that into consideration. Edit: I was able to make it work in high humidity!!! It was even raining the entire day I made it .... here's how I did it: Make the fairy food, pour it in the pan, and immediately refrigerate. As soon as it's set(about 30 min?), take it out, break it up, and dip it in chocolate, then immediately put it in freezer in air tight container. Doesn't take long to thaw it, so take it out of the freezer about 20 minutes before you serve it. Worked for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIDIMM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2005
I think that the candy foams up just right. I made this candy for my boyfriend who loves crunchy bars but cannot get them in the US under $3. Can anyone tell me how to prevent the milky yellow "brittle" on the top and bottom of the crunch? It makes it difficult to chew. It has happened both times I tried the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I have this same recipe and it calls for only 1 tbsp. baking soda. This always tastes great. If you feel your candy raised too high you can cut across the height. Never try on a damp/rainy day and line pan with non-stick foil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Thank you thank you thank you for this recipe! We too call it sponge candy and it's extremely expensive to buy this stuff at the one candy shop that still carries it at Christmas time only. It was so simple to make, takes very little ingredients that you usually have, and tastes just as great as the spendy stuff. My dad still doesn't believe I made it myself and everyone at work asked for the recipe! I will put my next batch in a 9x13 pan though so it's not so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
We've always called this stuff "sponge toffee", and it's just like the inside of a Crunchy bar. Terrific recipe, it worked out just perfectly. It didn't take too long to do, either. The kids loved it! Be very careful when pouring this out and cleaning the pot...it gets *extremely* hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Try #1: Followed directions exactly and ended up with something that looked and smelled a lot like burnt marshmallows. I'm wondering if the addition of vinegar alters the cooktime from normal candymaking. Also notice clumps of baking soda, consider quickly sifting into mixture with a fine sieve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin J. Sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
WOW!!!!Just like the Fairy Food from Wisconsin, only better. And so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Giles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Monaca, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States