Fairy Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Try #1: Followed directions exactly and ended up with something that looked and smelled a lot like burnt marshmallows. I'm wondering if the addition of vinegar alters the cooktime from normal candymaking. Also notice clumps of baking soda, consider quickly sifting into mixture with a fine sieve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin J. Sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is a great recipe! So simple, but tastes exactly like the "sponge toffee" I've always known. (Never heard it called "fairy food" before -- interesting!) I used an 8x8 pan and it filled it to the brim, so I'll probably try something bigger next time. Didn't bother with the chocolate because we just wanted it plain. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David J Imm
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I used to live in Wisconsin, and this recipe was awesome!! We made it the first time when we were kids, and our parents weren't home.... freaked us out (we couldn't figure out at first why you needed a large pot). We just spead it out on a big cookie sheet, and then broke it up. The less baking soda, the better. When I moved down to Alabama, I tried making the exact same recipe (it was one of my favorites) about 5 times before realizing that the humidity was screwing it up. So the people who posted the negative reviews might take that into consideration. Edit: I was able to make it work in high humidity!!! It was even raining the entire day I made it .... here's how I did it: Make the fairy food, pour it in the pan, and immediately refrigerate. As soon as it's set(about 30 min?), take it out, break it up, and dip it in chocolate, then immediately put it in freezer in air tight container. Doesn't take long to thaw it, so take it out of the freezer about 20 minutes before you serve it. Worked for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David J Imm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
WOW!!!!Just like the Fairy Food from Wisconsin, only better. And so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Giles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Monaca, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
i tried this recipe and though it was fun it just did not turn out.....the candy turned out rock hard..i think i may hve did something wrong...i dunno
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
:( Wyocat was right, at 300 the temp shoots right up. Everything was going along nicely, I dumped the baking soda in at 300 stirred and turned to pour into the dish and I noticed a funny smell. The candy was orange and then it hit me, I BURNED IT! Ugh. I really wanted to try this and I just happened to have some corn syrup at home. Now I have a disgusting mess and an awful smell. I give 3 stars because I burned it (not the recipe's fault) and because the instructions weren't clear enough for me. I'll try again after I get more corn syrup at the store and hopefully I can give more stars. *Update* :( Very unhappy now, I made a trip to the store and bought more corn syrup after the first batch failed. I made a couple of adjustments to see if I could do this right. I heated the sugar to about 270 and removed it from the heat and stirred in the sifted baking soda. Closer to what I think it is supposed to be, the stench has lifted in my house but again, IT BURNED! I'm getting grumpy about this one. ***UPDATE*** Third time must be the charm. Removed it from the heat at 260, added in the baking soda. Stirred really well and dumped into the dish. Still kinda orange but since it tasted just fine I assume that's the way it's supposed to be. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This recipe didn't turn out at all for me. I followed all of the directions, and used a candy thermometer, and it still burned! That being said, and since it could have still been my mistake, and the fact that it makes a great science experiment for the kids to watch, I give it 3 1/2 stars. Who knows, I may even try it again sometime. Next time I will also make sure the baking soda is SIFTED. (Have you ever bit into a bit of unsifted baking soda? I would not recommend it.) Overall: Good concept, cool food science, fun to watch, worth a try just for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This was very good but had a funny baking soda-y after taste... I dont know if I will make again or look for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I gave this as gifts last year to some family members who LOVE sponge candy but can no longer find it in any of the candy shops. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I didn't try this exact recipe but have tried a similar on - I was so excited to find this recipe as I grew up in WI and used to eat Angel Food Candy and then moved to IN and it is about impossible to find. This stuff is sooooo delicious! Everyone who has tasted it loves it, kids and grownups alike. Very wonderful treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States