Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I baked the cake for 45 minutes, went to check it, and it is overdone. Plus, very messy batter to make. I would suggest adding the oil, eggs, and vanilla to the puree then adding the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Great recipe to play with. I made changes to make it a bit healthier. I used 2cups white flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour and instead of oil I used 1 cup unsweetened applesause, I added a teaspoon or two of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg and and a squeez of lemon, finally I halved the sugars to 1/2cup each and baked it in a bundt pan. Even though I lost track of time and slightly over cooked it, it still tastes great- very moist and flavorful, this would taste really good warm with a scoop of French vanilla icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is a very good cake and extremely easy to make. I took out the nuts and reduced the oil by 1/4 cup like had been suggested and it was moist and tasty - although a bit boring. I just added a simple caramel glaze, as I think icing would be a bit too heavy. Thanks to grandma for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Great recipe, Rory. Moist, tasty and moreish. I followed the suggestions of: - adding ginger and cinnamon to dry ingredients - forgot to puree the pear mixture but was still fine - only needed to bake for an hour - added thin pear slices to top of cake before baking - used 1/2 C oil and 1/2C apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
The batter for this cake was EXTREMELY sweet, so I was worried that it was going to be too much. But the finished product is delicious!! I used 5 VERY ripe pears instead of 4, which allowed me to cut the oil to 1/2 cup and still get a very, very moist cake. I also threw in half a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, just to add a little punch. Great cake -- very original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Delicious! I used a bundt pan and coated it with cinnamon sugar. Next time, I will add more pears (I used four very ripe pears), use less sugar and add some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnittingKittens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I was slightly disappointed, but my coworkers loved it. I think the source of my problem with it was that I used sunflower seed oil (the main kind available here in Russia), which to my taste overpowered my gorgeously ripe pears, but the texture was perfectly moist (after a little over an hour in the oven). The only things I changed were to bake in a 10" tube pan (my convection oven bakes those more evenly than 9x13 or a loaf pan), to use five pears, and to add 1/2 t. cinnamon, 1/4 t. ginger, and 1/4 t. nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I thought this cake was fantastic! I had a few extra pears in the house so I peeled them & cut them into thin slices & layered them into the cake & on the top. It was brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jana
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I doulbed it (had the pears) and did two 9 inch rounds, topped with simple glaze- delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I agree with some of the reviews. The cake came out perfectly moist but nobody could tell it was made with pear. I followed the recipe exactly except mine only cooked for 45min and it was perfect. Maybe next time I'll try keeping the pears in pieces instead of blending them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States