Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is a very good cake and extremely easy to make. I took out the nuts and reduced the oil by 1/4 cup like had been suggested and it was moist and tasty - although a bit boring. I just added a simple caramel glaze, as I think icing would be a bit too heavy. Thanks to grandma for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Great recipe, Rory. Moist, tasty and moreish. I followed the suggestions of: - adding ginger and cinnamon to dry ingredients - forgot to puree the pear mixture but was still fine - only needed to bake for an hour - added thin pear slices to top of cake before baking - used 1/2 C oil and 1/2C apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
The batter for this cake was EXTREMELY sweet, so I was worried that it was going to be too much. But the finished product is delicious!! I used 5 VERY ripe pears instead of 4, which allowed me to cut the oil to 1/2 cup and still get a very, very moist cake. I also threw in half a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, just to add a little punch. Great cake -- very original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Delicious! I used a bundt pan and coated it with cinnamon sugar. Next time, I will add more pears (I used four very ripe pears), use less sugar and add some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnittingKittens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I was slightly disappointed, but my coworkers loved it. I think the source of my problem with it was that I used sunflower seed oil (the main kind available here in Russia), which to my taste overpowered my gorgeously ripe pears, but the texture was perfectly moist (after a little over an hour in the oven). The only things I changed were to bake in a 10" tube pan (my convection oven bakes those more evenly than 9x13 or a loaf pan), to use five pears, and to add 1/2 t. cinnamon, 1/4 t. ginger, and 1/4 t. nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I thought this cake was fantastic! I had a few extra pears in the house so I peeled them & cut them into thin slices & layered them into the cake & on the top. It was brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jana
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I doulbed it (had the pears) and did two 9 inch rounds, topped with simple glaze- delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I agree with some of the reviews. The cake came out perfectly moist but nobody could tell it was made with pear. I followed the recipe exactly except mine only cooked for 45min and it was perfect. Maybe next time I'll try keeping the pears in pieces instead of blending them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I was very very excited to make this, even waited days until the pears were ripe enough to make the whole house smell great! But I have to say I was pretty disappointed. The cake itself came out perfect, and there was nothing wrong with it, but the taste was very...not what I had expected. I was hoping for a lot more pear taste, and it was so light, it could have been any fruit. It is wonderful in the morning with butter and a hot cup of tea, but I probably will never make this again- at least with pear. I did love soaking the nuts and fruit in the sugars for an hour- that part I WILL keep doing! I did enjoy trying something new- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiIrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calimesa, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
10 STARS! This is awesome, make it as it suggests, you can't go wrong. Spices are just right, you could lower the sugar a little bit and add cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States