Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Just tried this today. Substituted walnuts for pecans and sprinkled powdered sugar on top. Baking time was just about 50 minutes. I also used "wild" pears that grow on my property. These are smaller and not as sweet or tender as "regular" hybrid/grafted pears. Turned out wonderful! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murtsm

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I love this basic recipe! I sliced and chopped the pears and soaked in the sugar about 15 minutes and left whole. I used about 2/3 of the sugar called for. I used self-rising four and omitted the salt and reduced the baking soda to 1 tsp. I added 1/2 c. Of apple juice and baked in a sugared Bundt pan for about 40-45 minutes. Gorgeous and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This is a really good cake, and provided a way to use up some pears that I would have probably wasted. They were very firm, but not ripening, so this was an ideal application. I did not puree the fruits and nuts - I sliced the pears right into my food processor, added the sugar and toasted pecans and let them sit for an hour or so, then chopped them with just a few pulses. I also added some cinnamon, and baked this cake in a bundt pan. I used Gail Law's Brown Sugar Sauce (without the brandy) to glaze the cake. It was outstanding. Thanks for saving my pears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Photo by pinkumbrella
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is an amazing cake, and I'm sure it would go amazing with liqueur or some caramel syrup drizzled on top before being put in the oven. Love it! I only used 1/2 a cup of oil, skipped the vanilla and pecans while letting it sit for 1 1/2 hours before adding in the dry ingredients while also only using 1/4 cup of caster sugar. I took it out of the oven for 2 minutes 45 minutes through then put it back in for 15 minutes at 150C for a crispy outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I am in love with this recipe. I used 6 very very ripe pears and cut them into chunks, and then mashed about half of them with a potato masher. I then left out the egg to make it vegan, used about 3/4 cup of oil and put in 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder. It is delicious! I topped it with cinnamon and sugar and baked it for an hour and 5 minutes in my rather slow oven... this is so good! And now vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
My pears were quite ripe therefore I just diced them and did not allow sugar to set to long before mixing with the dry ingredients. My four pears diced equaled 3 cups. Next time, I will up that to 4 cups diced. I used powered sugar instead of flour to dust my 9x13 and baked it for only 40 minutes. I topped it with another lite dusting of powered sugar, no other topping necessary! Definitely a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menno, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
i thought this was good, but it did not ooze pear. i added 1/2 tsp cloves. 1/2 white sugar. 3/4 c. brown sugar. 2/3 oil. i also used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white flour -- and am reminded again that whole wheat sucks when it comes to cake. i know this will be better next time, and i'll eat my fat white cake and just go for awalk afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Sweet and moist. Good pear flavor-- definitely a good use for those almost too ripe pears. I reduced oil by 1/3 cup and cut the pears into small pieces (didn't puree or blend). Added a bit of cinnamon and some grated ginger as well. Baked in a loaf pan, and did the extra as mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Pureeing the pears made it very blah; recommend chopping up in a fine dice for better texture/pear flavor. Also, I left out some of the oil as per the reviews, and it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I was so happy to use up my older pears I thought I would have to toss. I didn't even have to wait 5 minutes for my sugar/pear mixture to be ready-mine liquified immediately. I baked mine in a bundt pan and it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States