Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This makes a wonderful Pear Bread. I followed another review & made it bread instead. I also forgot to add the oil, which turned out better because I used (really) ripe pears. With the ripe pears, no need for the cup of oil. I started a new job & made this for the office. When my probation period was to end, my bosses told me they could not release me from probation until I made more pear bread! I would recommend this recipe to anyone & this has become a standard baking recipe & requested often. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFANY LENNING

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pace, Florida, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Super moist cake. I added cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves from another pear cake recipe-lovely. Also poured a boiled butter/milk/sugar glaze over the top while it was still warm. My guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I couldn't taste the pear in this cake at all. it was also a little dry... I definitely wouldn't make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This was absolutely fabulous. I used EXTREMELY ripe pears which I think help make it so delicious. My mother-in-law even asked for the recipe (a FIRST!). I used a simple powdered sugar and milk glaze which was perfect. Thanks so much for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Perfect use for overripe pears. I used hand mixer & left small chunks which added nice texture, also added ginger & cinnamon and cut oil to 2/3 cup and cook time to 50 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
Enjoyed this cake very much! I cut the baking time to 45 minutes and it was perfect. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
A great cake with coffe/tea. Perfect for Mothers and Mothers-in-law!! I did not bake it long enough though. Perhaps 1 hour and 30 minutes would have worked better. I was not crazy about having to take out the food processor to prepare the puree but, the extra effort will not deter me from making it again. I may omit the nuts next time or try walnuts instead (pecans were just a wee more expensive!!) :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Moist, delicious and not overly sweet. I eliminated the nuts (due to allergies) and replaced 1 cup of the flour with wheat flour. Also, because this was for a birthday, I used a bundt pan instead of 13x9 for a more special look. It took a little longer to bake (although the blame may rest on my ancient oven which has trouble keeping a stable temp) and had to be covered with foil for the last 15 minutes to prevent burning. The look was completed by sprinkling a bit of powdered sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This is worth the work. I did it almost exactly as it said but added a tsp of cinnimon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissie Brooks
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
A perfectly delicious unique pear cake, just what I was looking for. The aroma alone is wonderful. This recipe will be handed down for generations. I am baking 2 more for my neighbour friends tomorrow. Thanks for sharing Rory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States