Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
This recipe said to bake the cake for one hour and 15 minutes, when I checked it at 1 hour it was already burnt! The batter looked fabulous so I may try it again and keep a better eye on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
We really enjoyed this. Flavor of the pears (which were very ripe) really came through. Will definitely save for next fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
This is one of the best cakes I've ever made. I did modify it a little, though. I omitted the nuts, because I wanted to share this with my neighbor and she hates nuts. I cut the pears like I would my apples for apple pie, and I didn't puree them, which was ideal for this cake. You can cut back on the oil by 1/4 cup and it will remain moist. I will continue cutting back on the oil 1/4 cup at a time until I get to a point where I know I need to stop. I did this with my cousin's zucchini bread recipe and I was able to cut it from 1-cup to 1/3 cups. By reducing the oil you can reduce the fat content in this recipe. Also, use "ripe" pears, ones where the skin has started to go from green to yellow. If the pears aren't "ripe" you won't get the full flavor of this deliciously moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
i'm sorry, but this recipe was awful. when i tasted it, "bleh!" came to mind. the taste was terrible. i was really disapointed. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Thank goodness for Grandmas recipes. I use my Grannys whenever I can. This is a GOOD cake and the Best way of using up RIPENING pears. My kids loved it and my neighbors want the recipe. I dont like changing recipes the first time out but I topped with cream cheese icing and subbed WHEAT flour for the all purpose ( I got caught with just a cup or so of A/P and had no choice ). Results were very favorable. THANX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Fantastic. Not too terribly sweet, though - thankfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I tried making half the recipe in a loaf tin - it was done in around 50 minutes. A wonderful and unusual loaf - I love the way the sugars form a toffee sauce with the pecans over the pear before adding to the flour. The pecan flavour was great - but my pears weren't "dripping" ripe, so the pear taste was a bit lost. Will definitely make again many times and try to get riper pairs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
This cake was wonderful! I took it to work, and it was devoured before lunchtime! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
What a terrific cake! My fiance has been really "bad" and has been eating it for breakfast and, of course, dessert. I frosted it with vanilla frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
Moist and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States