Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Not a fan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Delicious. I've made this both pureed and not. Both are equally good in their own right; however I slightly preferred the pieces to the pureed taste. Definitely can cut down oil to ab 2/3 cup. And the cook time is way way off. Cooked mine ab 45 minutes and it was barely caught in time. If you do 75 min as stated, you will end up with a rock in your pan (from experience lol) Otherwise delicious. And very good with brown sugar or white glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I only had 2 pears so I cut the recipe in half and cook it in 3 tiny loaf pans and I also opted out the nuts! Great for a Sunday breakfast bread! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Very moist, with great pear flavour. I replaced chopped pecans with almond butter (all I had on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Tried this today I used 7 pears, because that is what I had, so I decided to leave out 1 cp of granulated sugar. Turned out great this is a keeper for me. it tastes great all by itself with good cup of coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yoly
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This cake is more like a sweet bread. The flavors get better the longer it sits. I did not puree the pears, I cut them into small chunks. Glazed it with a mixture of powdered sugar, milk and vanilla. Cooking time is off, I set my timer for 1 hour and it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
The first time I made this exactly as written. It was tasty but too sweet for us. The second time I cut the sugar in half and reduced the fat by using only 1/3 cup oil and 1/3 cup applesauce. Also, I was out of pecans so I used walnuts and baked it in a bundt pan. The taste and texture was the same but the caloric content was lower, which means we can. . . eat more cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Very good cake. I made it in a bunt pan as other reviews suggested. I served it with the brown sugar sauce also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is a perfect fall cake. I did increase the amount of pears to 4 cups and cut the oil out completely and it turned out perfectly. I plan on making it again today. Excellent for home, family gatherings or a gift. All around excellent Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katwoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This bread is so scrumptious! I found it looking for something to do with my pears that were just about too ripe. I substituted a couple things; half cup of stevia instead of sugar, organic brown sugar, 2 tablespoons of organic honey, self rise flower with no baking soda, free range eggs and most importantly.....organic coconut oil (half the amount) instead or vegetable oil. It turned out absolutely amazing! I'm going to have to keep an eye on my son so he doesn't eat it all. Try it....add your own ideas....have fun!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States