Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Everyone loved this cake. I definitely will be making this a lot. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Great flavor, but it didn't rise well. I think I'll add a little more baking soda and some baking powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is a tasty cake, but follow other people's suggestions on the cooking time. Mine turned out fairly dry after only 1 hour of baking (nothing a cup of tea or a little ice cream shouldn't fix). Wish I had read through more reviews before popping it into the oven! 50 minutes sounds more like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs. lucas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This is soooo good. My daughter loves it and doesn't like pears. Be sure pears are very ripe. The better the pears taste, the better the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Wish grams had a frosting recipe to go with the cake. My family thought it was a delicious way to use up pears. We can't wait to have some for breakfast cold with butter on it. Only thing I would fix is the timing. I baked it for just about an hour and it was a nice golden brown and perfectly done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I just finished making this and discovered that for some reason, the number of servings had been adjusted on the recipe to 7 from 14. I am not sure if this is a change made by me (accidentally) or by the originator of this recipe, but there was a little note at the bottom that did indicate that the recipe servings had been changed. That said, baking this in a 13x9 pan was far too big, and would explain why some people have said the cooking time was way too long, and that a loaf pan would have made a better cake. If your number of servings says 7, and you would like to make this in the 13 x 9, adjust the number of servings back up to 14. Otherwise, your cake will be burnt if you cook it for 50 minutes, and the height will be about 1 inch. Better luck next time for me. Tastes fine, I guess, because I took it out after 25 minutes (after noticing all the reviews about reducing the bake time by a lot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I made this cake without changing any ingredients other than omiting the nuts. I made a double batch in order to use some ripe pears we had from my inlaws pear tree.i made one 9x13 and two 8x8s. Enough for us and a vouple neighbors. I frosted them with a thin buttercream frosting.It does have more of a bread texture but it was delicious! Also the cooking time is much less than the recipe says. I had all three pans in the oven together for 45 minutes and they were perfect. Great recipe! Will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I made a few modifications. I used 3 pears and 1 apple because that's what I had on hand. I only let the pear/apple mixture sit for around 10 minutes, since my pears were so ripe, they liquified very quickly. I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon and reduced the oil to 1/3 cup and used 1/2 cup of fat free vanilla yogurt. The cooking time in a 9x13 pan is only 50 minutes,The texture was still very moist and the flavor good. A great way to use over-ripe pears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisaminearo
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I substituted sourcream for the oil and put a lemon yogurt glaze on it it is wonderful! Very moist flavorful great summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This turned out dry. I only baked it for 50 minutes. Flavor was ok but not remarkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States