Fabulous Zucchini Grinders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
These were really good. Rated 4 stars due to changes needed to prevent sandwich from being soggy. Followed many other reviews and toasted rolls in oven about 5 mins. before filling with zucchini and sauce mixture. Placed a mixture of Italian cheeses on bottom of the roll, a bit mixed in the sauce and a some on top. Baked uncovered for another 5 mins, or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
These were amazing. My husband and I ate them two nights in a row! We added a few grilled steak strips on the second night and it was a meal of its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Milton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
These things are incredible. I made them last night and even my 18 month old son ate every last bite of his 'mini sandwich'. I added 4 cloves of garlic to the marinara and used cilantro instead of basil since that is what I had in the fridge. The marinara was great and I think it really makes the grinder. Did half cheese on the bread after I toasted it and half on top after I added the toppings. Added some red onions and sliced mushrooms to the zucchini mixture and topped with raw red onion and banana peppers. Yum. Will definitely be making like once a week, haha. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Excelent! I made a few modifications such as using fresh tomatoes instead of canned and I added onions, red and yellow bell peppers and mushrooms as I needed to use them up. I also added pork (again leftovers) and I mixed everything together in one pan at the end before I filled the rolls. Even my kids ate this! Mix would also be great over pasta! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
great recipe add a little twist to mine large loaf of italian bread sliced in half marinara sauce with the zucchini mixture with some andouille sausage topped with shredded mozzarella cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I made these last night. They were AMAZING. My kids weren't going to eat them so I added lots of extra red pepper flakes. They were so good. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Easy, filling and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This recipe was unusual in a good way. However, I made a few alterations that made it memoriable. Sauce: use fire-roasted diced tomatoes, skip the sugar, use 1/4c red wine vinegar, and double the basil if using fresh. Reduce the sauce for ~15 min and skip the pureeing for a lovely texture component. Sandwich: toast the bread before filling so it doesn't get soggy and mix the cheese in with the zucchini for an even melting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was absolutely wonderful! I had a chicken breast I had baked the night before that I diced up and threw in after I cooked the zucchini since I knew my very picky kids would probably snub their noses at just zucchini. I also added half a white onion to the zucchini mixture for added flavor. This really was so, so good! I toasted the hoagies, laid very thin slices of provolone on the bottom so the bread wouldn't get soggy, and then layered as instructed. I sprayed the foil with oil so the cheese wouldn't stick once I rolled the sandwiches up and baked them in the oven. I will definitely be making this super simple recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Delicious and super easy to make. Homemade marinara comes together in just minutes and tastes sooooo much better than store-bought, even when using dried basil. Love these subs and will be making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Zucchini Noodles and Feta Meatballs

This amazing "spaghetti" and meatballs dinner is completely gluten-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States