Fabulous Wet Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Really enjoyed this. I did, however, take out the tomato soup. Having lived in Texas I wasn't happy with the taste. All in all this is a very good version of a Tex-mex wet burrito! Thank you Cindy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This was pretty darn good! Comfort tex mex which is what I was expecting. I topped it with lettuce and pico, but made as directed, just with lean chili and fat free beans to ease the calorie load a tad. Would have been great with guacamole or sour cream on top, but alas I had none. Yummy and filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This recipe is infinitely adaptable and served as a great base from which to start. I used 10" flour tortillas (a full package of ten), placing about 6 in a Pyrex 9x13 and the remainder in an 8x8. I had a few leftovers in the fridge that I added to the filling mixture, including about 1/2 C. of pinto beans and a scant 1 C. of homemade turkey chili, so I was able to make plenty of burritos (enough for two nights). I omitted the lettuce & tomatoes from the filling and instead served it on top. I also used 96/4 lean turkey, which I drained. The sauce is delicious but does make a ton, so there's plenty to drizzle on the pan bottom to prevent any sticking. With a few modifications (fat free refried beans, lean turkey, low fat chili, light cheese) it's still delicious but also a decently healthful -- and totally filling! -- dinner. I'll happily put this in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carissa S

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I husband thought this recipe was a keeper. I will add sour cream and guacamole and salsa next time on my dish to add additional flavor. Our grandson like the burrito without the sauce. He is not into spice yet. All in all, I will make this again. Fast and easy and tasty. For a faster version, try left over or canned chili for the filling and on top for the sauce. Heat the chili. Warm the flour on a dry pan turning once the tortilla begins to rise. I like the flavor and texture of the flour tortilla better.. Add avocado or guacamole, tomatoes green onions, chopped black olives, sour cream and salsa. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I made this for my husbands birthday when we stayed at a lodge for a weekend getaway. I made exactly as written and it was delicious. My husband doesn't care for tomato soup based sauces, but he loved this. Don't worry about the wrapping up the lettuce before you microwave it. It's delicious! Next time I make for the family, I will place 4-5 burritos on a jelly roll pan and broil for 5 mins to melt cheese (more for ease of making many at a time). Top with everything you would top a taco with! Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Excellent and easy to make. The filling isn't much different from a recipe I've used in the past, but with some differences. What really makes this recipe great is the wet sauce, which is very tasty without being too spicy. As a single man cooking for myself this recipe created plenty of extra for leftovers and they reheat just fine, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrinderCB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I am not a fan of "cooking" anything that is made up of canned stuff. Recipes would be more helpful if they told me how to make them from scratch - then I know exactly what I am eating and I can cook with fresh ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Great quick and easy recipe..it states 45 minutes but we got it done a lot quicker. Hubby cut the veggies, I opened cans and heated on the stove. I don't usually use so many processed foods but it sure sped up the process. It's a bit more expensive then we normally spend for dinner (lean burger); it cost $18.91 w/o tax and my pack of tortillas had 8 so I made that many. It's just 3 of us so I took the extras and put them in freezer containers for work day lunches. We'll make this again on occasion..reminded us of the taco bell enchiritos..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I think this is a great recipe. And just so you know, when i read reviews for a recipe, i dont care what you changed or did different, i dont even finish reading the review, i am interested however in the reviews that havent been changed that way i get a TRUE review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Satisfied my Tex/Mex crave, but don't even look at the sodium count... just enjoy! I want another but one is really rich and I made them one at a time. Definetly looking forward to leftovers. Surprizingly fresh tasting considering all the canned ingrediants. Make sure your meat mixture gets very thick. I did have to reduce mine alot under very low heat depending on the moisture content of the diced chilis and refried beans you use. I had some great sweet potatoe chips as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States