Fabulous Roasted Cauliflower Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This recipe is fabulous! Like most here I had to add my own style to it. Being the southern girl that I am, I add bacon, cayenne, and completely omit the shallots for 1 plain yellow onion. I do not like roasting the onion and garlic with the cauliflower because it does tend to burn. So I just cut the top off of a whole head of garlic drizzle a little olive oil and sprinkle a little salt and wrap it in foil then throw it in the oven, next to the pan of cauliflower to roast. When you can smell it, it's done! The bacon is cut in small pieces fried down, strain the grease set bacon aside and sauté the onion in the same pan. Follow through with all the rest of the ingredients and add a dollop of light sour cream and bacon pieces, to plate! This has become the go to soup, for our Secret Sister, girls night out! ;) A favorite for sure!!!! Thanks for Sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Delicious!! My soup came out a bit thick, probably because the cauliflowers were quite large, so instead of 2 cups of cream - I put 1 cup cream and 1 cup milk. It turned out great. I served it topped with caramelized onions and cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Made half a recipe and sure wish I had made the whole recipe. This was absolutely delicious! I left out the thyme and bay leaf (forgot the first, didn't have the second) but want to add that next time. I did throw in a handful of grated cheese. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was pretty good, but I made a few changes. I roasted the cauliflower with oil, salt, and pepper. Then I sauteed the garlic and onions before adding the stock and water. Worked great and it was yummy. Served it with toasted pine nuts on top...that really made it amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I received great reviews from everyone who tried it, but no one went for seconds. I think the cauliflower leaves a not so pleasant aftertaste. The recipe is great, so I think I will try it out with other veggies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This came out really good. I think it's the roasting with the garlic and shallots that make the flavor. I had big heads of cauliflower so increased some of the ingredients (6 cloves of garlic, 4 cups of chicken broth) Used whole milk instead of heavy cream...then decided it needed something so added a couple tablespoons of butter. You could probably adjust this different ways and still have something good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
As written this soup is very bland and in desperate need of seasoning. We love cauliflower but this soup was not enjoyed by any member of our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Delicious soup!! Made as written many times....my co-workers request this monthly at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I made this soup after I read many reviews. I used 1 head of cauliflower, added 2 potatoes and 2 large carrots, added 7 large cloves of garlic and 3 shallots tossed them all in 1/4 cup EVO, layered on a roasting pan then sprinkled with ground pepper and sea salt and roasted. I upped the chicken stock to 4 and left out the water. I also added 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. I used 2 cups of 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy cream. After I blended everything with a hand immersion blender I added 1/2 cup of both freshly grated Asiago & 1/2 cup of Old Cheddar and salt and pepper to taste. Amazing. Garnished it with fresh bacon bits, fresh chives a few pieces of roasted Cauliflower florets and a little of the grated cheese blend. and served it home made buttermilk biscuits (recipe from Allrecipes) Great for this cold rainy fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stoney Lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Woodview, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
My kids love this soup. I've only had one head of Califlower like most people, so I've added parsnips and potatoes in the roast. (carrots are good too). Never have tried cream but sounds delish. Unfortunately, we can't afford the extra calories (or I can't). Lowfat and non-fat milk are fine though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States