Fabulous Roasted Cauliflower Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Love this, it may look a little thick at first but, just be patient, when you add the cream at the end it really helps. I halved this recipe. I didn't have a scallion so I used a white onion. When it came to the garlic I added extra(just because I love it). I used a half bulb and cut the top off and drizzled with oil and just halved the onion then added to the cauliflower in the oven. I cooked for 20 mins then stirred and then put back in for the remainder of the 30 mins.. If you do the above, you shouldn't have the problem of them burning like others stated they had. I did used a hand blender, this allowed me to leave some bigger pieces. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Followed recipe exactly. Found that the garlic and shallots burned while being roasted. I would leave them whole next time or at very least just cut them in half. When it was ready I decided that it just needed a little something. Added some cayenne pepper and that seemed to do the trick. This was a nice soup on a cold day. Thank you TOZENUF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Like many others, I lightened it up. I used nonfat evaporated milk. Used A LOT of black pepper and garnished with crumbled bacon and parmesan cheese to honor the richness of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This was so delicious! I made mine with homemade turkey stock instead of chicken broth, and I used half and half instead of heavy cream. Also, I gave the cauliflower a head start, roasting it for 15 minutes before I added the shallots and garlic, so they wouldn't scorch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This recipe is fabulous! Like most here I had to add my own style to it. Being the southern girl that I am, I add bacon, cayenne, and completely omit the shallots for 1 plain yellow onion. I do not like roasting the onion and garlic with the cauliflower because it does tend to burn. So I just cut the top off of a whole head of garlic drizzle a little olive oil and sprinkle a little salt and wrap it in foil then throw it in the oven, next to the pan of cauliflower to roast. When you can smell it, it's done! The bacon is cut in small pieces fried down, strain the grease set bacon aside and sauté the onion in the same pan. Follow through with all the rest of the ingredients and add a dollop of light sour cream and bacon pieces, to plate! This has become the go to soup, for our Secret Sister, girls night out! ;) A favorite for sure!!!! Thanks for Sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Delicious!! My soup came out a bit thick, probably because the cauliflowers were quite large, so instead of 2 cups of cream - I put 1 cup cream and 1 cup milk. It turned out great. I served it topped with caramelized onions and cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Made half a recipe and sure wish I had made the whole recipe. This was absolutely delicious! I left out the thyme and bay leaf (forgot the first, didn't have the second) but want to add that next time. I did throw in a handful of grated cheese. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was pretty good, but I made a few changes. I roasted the cauliflower with oil, salt, and pepper. Then I sauteed the garlic and onions before adding the stock and water. Worked great and it was yummy. Served it with toasted pine nuts on top...that really made it amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I received great reviews from everyone who tried it, but no one went for seconds. I think the cauliflower leaves a not so pleasant aftertaste. The recipe is great, so I think I will try it out with other veggies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This came out really good. I think it's the roasting with the garlic and shallots that make the flavor. I had big heads of cauliflower so increased some of the ingredients (6 cloves of garlic, 4 cups of chicken broth) Used whole milk instead of heavy cream...then decided it needed something so added a couple tablespoons of butter. You could probably adjust this different ways and still have something good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States