Fabulous Roasted Cauliflower Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I have made this a couple of times now b/c my BF has declared it his favourite soup (and I make A LOT of soup). Both times I only used one head of cauliflower, and added some combination of carrots, turnips, and potatoes - which is nice b/c then I can use up whatever is in the fridge. Both times I did add 4 cups of broth (no water) and no heavy cream, milk or any other substitute. The soup is already thick and rich enough in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Excellent soup! You can easily reduce calories by substituting evaporated or milk for the cream. Delicious! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
So, if anyone is wondering what this is like, as I did, think along the lines of a creamy potato soup. And even though I used half - n - half, and only a cup, it seemed very rich too me. To other posters who had problems with the garlic burning...just roast whole cloves instead of chopping them. They get blended up anyway. Good soup, different. Didn't knock my socks off though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Easy and delicious. I used all broth. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
My wife and I loved this soup. I used half-and-half, and reduced the roasting time to about 20 mins. (I made half the recipe). I also added a little more broth than the recipe called for to get the consistency right. It was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Very yummy. Used milk instead of cream. Left some chunks of cauliflower for texture. Also added about 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was fantastic. Also added 2 fresh carrots, sliced, to the roasting pan. (and a few extra cloves of garlic and 1 more shallot)Make sure the cauliflower is nicely browned before blending. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This is tasty!! I only had one head of cauliflower so I cut down the liquids a little bit and used skim milk to lighten it up. Be careful not to burn the garlic when you are roasting the cauliflower! Added lots of black pepper, too! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
The cauliflower took about 20 minutes to roast; 30 would have been way too long. I didn't bother pureeing it, I just smooshed it up with a potato masher so that it was a little chunky. Even on a hot day, I really enjoyed this. Had it for lunch with some crusty bread. Delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This was really good. My husband and I both loved it. Unfortunately, cauliflower is often pretty expensive- but we got two heads on sale and decided to splurge! Since the soup was the entree (we had it w/bread), it was inexpensive, healthy, and delicious. I did everything pretty much like the recipe said. Bon apetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joppatowne, Maryland, USA
Living In: Myersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States