Fabulous Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This cake is easy and tastes fantastic. The layers of flavor are excellent and the chips along with the sour cream make it decadently moist. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
YUM! Made this cake for my Bunco group and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I will make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
My husband and I love this cake. I've made it at least ten times in the last year. I omit the white chocolate chips and make an orange buttercream frosting to top it with. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Gorgeous light moist cake...I did change the ingredients a little. I used a Duncan Hines Yellow cake mix, sugar free Vanilla pudding mix. I used apple sauce in place of the vegetable oil, and used a mixture of Orange Juice and Orange Liqueur (I thought my very strong liqueur would be too much). Also added 2 drops of red and 2 drops of yellow food colouring to help to bring out an orange colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Wonderful! And yes, two cups of sour cream is correct. (I was a little worried about the amount, before baking). Moist, rich and no need for frosting or glaze (unless you REALLY wanna gild the lily!) Oh, yeah...easy, too Thanks for this lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Absolutely Fabulous- Easy to make. I brought it to work- and was gone in no time- had to share the recipe. I made a powered sugar glaze with a bit of orange juice added for taste. MMMM- GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
The taste was great. Only substitution that I made was to use orange juice instead of liqueur and the zest of one orange. But I think all of my white chocolate chips sank to the bottom and melted there. Like I said, it tasted good but looked kinda weird and the melted chips made it seem like it was not done even after the hour cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was ok. I subbed the liquer for orange juice and added orange extract. It could've used some orange zest too since it's very vanilla-y (orange was hard to detect). I skipped the white chocolate since I didn't have any, but it still tastes a lot like yellow cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DD356
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This cake smells amazing, and is delicious! Served to kids and adults and everyone had a second slice! It is so easy to make, I followed the recipe exactly, I would recommend having the sour cream be more room temperature as opposed to cold, combined with the pudding it begins to set up fast. Stirred Orange zest into 4 Tbsp Vanilla frosting and let it melt over the top of the cake to glaze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DD356

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was super easy and really moist and delicious. I omitted the chocolate chips and added the zest of one orange. I made a glaze of melted white chocolate, juice of one orange and chopped walnuts and drizzled on top. It added a little sweetness, but looked fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States