Fabulous Oatmeal-Bran Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
For a cake that has bran, this is worth 5 stars! As a breakfast muffin, it's too sweet, but as a cake, the amount of sugar in the recipe is about right, making the top slightly glazed and shiny. I added honey and vanilla as another reviewer suggested and it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
These muffins were very moist and delicous - they will be a favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Moist and light. I substituted the shortening with vanilla yogurt and a tbsp of oil, and it turned out great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Everyone loved this, even those that don't like bran! I added only 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar because I made these into muffins instead. Excellent recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This is a great recipe! The only thing I added was a handful of raisins and pecans. My family loved them, and I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
My family loved these muffins. I used a stick of butter instead of shortening, I cut the sugar in half, and used half whole wheat flour and half unbleached all-purpose flour. I made 12 small muffins and one 9-inch square cake with this- they were small, and the cake was thin (shallow), but they were tasty! The muffins were gone before breakfast was officially done. Next time I will probably add nuts, and maybe raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Very good! I baked this one in a tub cake pan and it came out really nice and moist. Don't even need any icing on it, it's good fresh and warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I was looking for a healthier cake (than the norm) when I stumbled upon this one. Since the reviews are so positive I decided to try it, even though I thought it might be dry. I discovered, however, that this cake is super moist and very tasty!! I added vanilla (like other reviewers) and some raisins. My super picky brother even liked it, which says a lot about this cake!! It's definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEMINIBAKER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This was great! Moist and light... I made it in a bundt pan, and it took a bit longer to cook than I thought it would. My husband suggested I jazz it up with raisins and walnuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Wonderful recipe! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States