Fabulous Oatmeal-Bran Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Moist and light. I substituted the shortening with vanilla yogurt and a tbsp of oil, and it turned out great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
My family loved these muffins. I used a stick of butter instead of shortening, I cut the sugar in half, and used half whole wheat flour and half unbleached all-purpose flour. I made 12 small muffins and one 9-inch square cake with this- they were small, and the cake was thin (shallow), but they were tasty! The muffins were gone before breakfast was officially done. Next time I will probably add nuts, and maybe raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
People go crazy every time I make this! I often switch out applesauce for the shortening, and it's still wonderfully moist. For something more indulgent, I make a cream cheese icing and decorate with toasted almonds and coconut. This cake is famous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I used 1 tsp cinnamon, reduced the sugar to 3/4 c (it had a perfect level of sweetness), used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white flour, and added walnuts. It was very good, and I imagine that shredded carrots and/or cream cheese frosting would be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spearfish, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This recipe is so nice for a healthy treat. I look forward to having a muffin with coffee in the morning completely guilt free!! I substituted shortning for low fat sour cream with a tablespoon of canola oil, added a teaspoon of vanilla and substituted regular sugar with splenda blend brown and white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spinn710

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Great low-carb recipe! I added rasins. Don't worry when the mix feels really thick - as soon as you add the oatmeal & bran it becomes a perfect batter. Plenty sweet and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made this tonight trying to find a healthier alternative for Thanksgiving cake. This was fabulos! I added 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 white and brown sugars, and 1/2 cp vanilla ff yogurt w/1 tbsp canola oil. I also added 1 cp shredded zucchini, 1/2 cp raisins and 1/2 cp pecans. Had to bake about 15-20 minutes longer as a muffin so the inside would get done. Great recipe: only 3 points a muffin if you are on Weight Watchers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was great--very moist and I loved the texture from the bran and oatmeal. I added a tsp of vanilla like others suggested. Also, I used quick oats and regular All Bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpaigel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
I used this recipe to make wonderful oatmeal bran muffins. I usually don't make changes to a recipes without trying it first. However, I added an extra 2/3 Cup flour to thicken the batter. The end result was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Just made this cake for Hubby's birthday. I wanted to find something that was healthier and this cake worked out great! Here are the changes I made: For the flour I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup white flour. For the cup of white sugar I used 2/3 cup white sugar and 1/3 cup honey and 1/2 cup unsalted butter for the shortening. I also added: 1 teas. vanilla, some chopped walnuts and a handful of raisons. We are lovin it! Great warm from the oven and it doesn't need any frostening, although some fat free cool whip or dream whip made with skim milk would be an excellent topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States