Fabulous Oatmeal-Bran Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This is fantastic. I cut the sugar slightly and add a few additional spices, it is still a big hit with just about everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Sorry but mine turned out dense and chewy...is it because I used baking powder instead of soda? Ah well, my toddler thought they were pretty tasty at least. Looks like he'll be the one eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Very good and moist. Didn't need frosting, and my husband loved it! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
People go crazy every time I make this! I often switch out applesauce for the shortening, and it's still wonderfully moist. For something more indulgent, I make a cream cheese icing and decorate with toasted almonds and coconut. This cake is famous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I made these just as stated and they are wonderful. It is a cake texture, but graet for getting some bran into the kid. I gave 4 stars because the cooking time is off if you do muffins, about 20 to 25. The kid loved them, so that was good. I am going to try again with less sugar just for health issues. This would be good with raisins also. Thank you! I also add flax meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I followed this recipe to the T and it FANTASTIC! We made muffins out of it. My oven did take 20 - 25 minutes to bake the muffins, not 15 like the recipe stated. It made 18 muffins in my muffin tins. And whoever said they were too sweet for a breakfast muffin was mistaken according to our taste. These were just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Just made this cake for Hubby's birthday. I wanted to find something that was healthier and this cake worked out great! Here are the changes I made: For the flour I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup white flour. For the cup of white sugar I used 2/3 cup white sugar and 1/3 cup honey and 1/2 cup unsalted butter for the shortening. I also added: 1 teas. vanilla, some chopped walnuts and a handful of raisons. We are lovin it! Great warm from the oven and it doesn't need any frostening, although some fat free cool whip or dream whip made with skim milk would be an excellent topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Great low-carb recipe! I added rasins. Don't worry when the mix feels really thick - as soon as you add the oatmeal & bran it becomes a perfect batter. Plenty sweet and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made this tonight trying to find a healthier alternative for Thanksgiving cake. This was fabulos! I added 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 white and brown sugars, and 1/2 cp vanilla ff yogurt w/1 tbsp canola oil. I also added 1 cp shredded zucchini, 1/2 cp raisins and 1/2 cp pecans. Had to bake about 15-20 minutes longer as a muffin so the inside would get done. Great recipe: only 3 points a muffin if you are on Weight Watchers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was great--very moist and I loved the texture from the bran and oatmeal. I added a tsp of vanilla like others suggested. Also, I used quick oats and regular All Bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpaigel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States