Fabulous Hot Five Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is the best 5-bean salad I've made. Friends love it, too. It's a real hit at parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
The recipe submitter posted a review and said she started using balsamic vinegar, so I used half white vinegar and half balsamic and enjoyed the tang that the balsamic brings to this. For whatever reason, I like things less "sweet" these days, so if I made any change, I'd cut back the sugar a little, but that's a personal taste preference. I think this is as much a side dish as a salad, and the bacon flavor is the STAR. I love bean salads and bean side dishes, and this is one of the best I've had in a long time. This is a winner Jodi T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
My husband is a vegetarian so I've also made this without the bacon. It is just as delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAZAARBAKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I do this recipe with kidney beans only and my husband loves them! A hit everytime. I just down size the recipe some! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This is Jodi T. the original submitter of this recipe. I have since started using Balsamic vinegar to make this and it literally flies out of the bowl. I usually serve it at a buffet in a crockpot. I have to make a double batch. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
i used white wine vinegar instead of regular vinegar. these are really good, but not spectacular. i liked them, so i can give it 4 stars, but my family didn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was pretty good. I added several dashes of hot sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
My husband just loves this dish-we are vegetarians so I use 'veggie' bacon and a bit of canola oil instead of pork. I saute about 1/2 of a thinly slided onion with the 'bacon'. We eat the leftovers cold with rolls for lunch the next day. Thank you Jodi T. for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Very tasty! I think it also tastes better after it chills a day, the flavors blend more. Also good cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Sorry to be the "black sheep" so to speak...but I wasn't crazy about this dish. I love beans but just didn't enjoy them cooked this way. The sugar was very overwhelming and I didn't like the combination of beans. Some were soft and others were tough in texture. I got confused while I was chewing. I did eat a bowl...just becasue they are soooo healthy. But one word of advice...plan on sleeping ALONE after you've eaten this ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States