Fabulous Hot Five Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is the best 5-bean salad I've made. Friends love it, too. It's a real hit at parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
The recipe submitter posted a review and said she started using balsamic vinegar, so I used half white vinegar and half balsamic and enjoyed the tang that the balsamic brings to this. For whatever reason, I like things less "sweet" these days, so if I made any change, I'd cut back the sugar a little, but that's a personal taste preference. I think this is as much a side dish as a salad, and the bacon flavor is the STAR. I love bean salads and bean side dishes, and this is one of the best I've had in a long time. This is a winner Jodi T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
My husband is a vegetarian so I've also made this without the bacon. It is just as delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAZAARBAKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I do this recipe with kidney beans only and my husband loves them! A hit everytime. I just down size the recipe some! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This is Jodi T. the original submitter of this recipe. I have since started using Balsamic vinegar to make this and it literally flies out of the bowl. I usually serve it at a buffet in a crockpot. I have to make a double batch. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
i used white wine vinegar instead of regular vinegar. these are really good, but not spectacular. i liked them, so i can give it 4 stars, but my family didn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was pretty good. I added several dashes of hot sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
My husband just loves this dish-we are vegetarians so I use 'veggie' bacon and a bit of canola oil instead of pork. I saute about 1/2 of a thinly slided onion with the 'bacon'. We eat the leftovers cold with rolls for lunch the next day. Thank you Jodi T. for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Very tasty! I think it also tastes better after it chills a day, the flavors blend more. Also good cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Sorry to be the "black sheep" so to speak...but I wasn't crazy about this dish. I love beans but just didn't enjoy them cooked this way. The sugar was very overwhelming and I didn't like the combination of beans. Some were soft and others were tough in texture. I got confused while I was chewing. I did eat a bowl...just becasue they are soooo healthy. But one word of advice...plan on sleeping ALONE after you've eaten this ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States