Fabulous Homemade Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
This recipe was rather easy for a bread recipe and made good bread. There was no way that we could eat 6 loaves of bread before they went bad so after I let the dough rise the first time and shaped the loaves I froze the dough. This was very easy, just once the loaves are shaped cover them in Saran Wrap before they are allowed to rise. Then freeze them in a ziplock bag. I've heard that you can keep the dough like this for up to 3 months, but I am really not sure. When you are ready for a fresh loaf just unwrap the dough and place it in the pan, cover and let rise. It will take several hours to thaw and rise, but it will. A very easy way to always have fresh homemafe bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
634 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOPEFULCRAFTY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
I bake bread laboriously every week, sometimes twice a week, and this is the best recipe I've ever used. It makes great hamburger buns, too, and rolls and the recipe follows exactly like it is written. I didn't have quick oats, so I used some regular oats that I chopped up in the blender first. Also recently I omitted the oatmeal and added 1 cup of wheat germ and one cup of wheat bran and about 1/3 extra brown sugar and it's great, too. This recipe is the best. It's the recipe I've been hunting for. If you have trouble getting your loaves even, just roll the dough out in one long even roll and use a tape measure to measure it into equal pieces and cut it and then roll the pieces into loaves. You can also rise this dough in the oven by letting the temp. get to 150 and cracking the oven door while you cook and then put an oven mit on the rack, put the dough in a bowl on top of that, cut the oven off and leave it for an hour with the light on. Rise the loaves the same way cutting a long slit in the tops first and then when they're almost as high as you want, just turn your oven up to 350 and leave them there to bake for 30 minutes (cut 5 min. so the bottoms won't brown too much). Make sure you leave room at the top of the oven so the loaves don't hit the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
419 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Wow...this is amazing. AMAZING. I had never made bread before, and I didn't have a bread machine OR a large mixer...and it still turned out great! I kneaded the dough according to the instructions on this site, and I also followed another person's suggestion and used honey in place of the brown sugar. Perfection! It makes store-bought bread taste sickening. My husband and I finished off the first loaf in less than one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
Just bit into my very first loaf of homemade bread. Whoa baby, that was good! My 11 year-old loved it too. And it only cost me $2.00 for the entire batch. I buy bulk, it's cheaper. Even the yeast. NOTE: 3(.25 oz dry active yeast)is equal to 1-1/2 TBSP of dry active yeast,if buying bulk. I froze the other 4 loaves (pre-baked) for later enjoyment. I melted some butter w/ fresh chopped bay leaves & used it to dip the bread in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
What an excellent all-purpose sandwich bread! It has such a lovely texture and delicate taste, no doubt from the oats and brown sugar. I made the recipe as written but with the following two alterations: 2 cups old-fashioned (rolled) oats in place of the 2 cups quick-cooking oats 9.5 cups all-purpose unbleached flour + 0.5 cup vital wheat gluten in place of the 10 cups of bread flour Also, I only baked one loaf today... after the first full rise, I shaped the dough into six loaves and stuck five into oiled ziploc freezer bags and put them into my deep freezer. I'll just pull them down as needed, let thaw and rise again, and then bake. Thanks, J. Drury, for an excellent recipe--I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Great recipe. I made it without a mixer or any high tech gadgets, just some elbow grease, a bowl, and an oven. It's my first time ever trying to make bread, and I'm enjoying it now with my coffee! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
This is perfect!I've been trying out several recipes for a good home made bread, and several times came out with a so-so result. But this one's the best so far.A real keeper. Had to cut down the recipe for 2 loaves and still came out good.Thanks a lot J. Drury!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I haven't even made this bread and I already am giving it a "5-star" rating just from reading all the reviews! I have a question and I hope that you experienced bread makers can help me. I am not very experienced and am lacking in bread making confidence for truly homemade bread, however, I do very well with my 2-pound bread machine. Question: How can I adapt this recipe to use in a bread machine as far as adding the ingredients? The method recommended by my machine is to put all liquids in the bottom of the pan followed by the dry ingredients and finally put the yeast on top. How long would I bake it ie. what setting? Help! Thanks, nursela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I first I thought it wasn't SO fabulous but then I couldn't stop eating it so I figure it must be fabulous then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
Delicious, although i always veganize the recipe (I've found both vegan margarin and vegetable oil works instead of butter, and instead of eggs use "Ener-G Egg Replacer", or just 4 tablespoons of water). Everyone loves the bread, with or without walnuts and chocolate- a bit of brown sugar sprinkled on the top is fun as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States