Fabulous Homemade Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
WELCOME FALL and I'm so glad it's bread baking season again! Nothing not to like about this yummy bread. I always use honey instead of sugar to proof my yeast but I did use the brown sugar in the recipe as I wanted the flavor of the molasses to come thru. It was light on the inside and nice and crusty on the outside. It went wonderfully with our green bean soup. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Amazingly yummy! I was silly and accidentally used white sugar instead of brown, but it was still awesome! I also made only four loaves, but two were in a 9X 5 bread pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This is fabulous for my family of six. I mix the whole recipe with half or less of the brown sugar and mostly honey. We have one loaf with chowder, then regular toast is divine for breakfast, then a loaf for fluffy french toast recipe from this site. I like that it is so versatile and not a one and done meal. I've had great luck with this bread recipe and I do not have a bread machine or stand mixer...just the old fashioned way:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This recipe is super easy to make and comes out very light and fluffy. The bread is perfect for sandwiches or toast. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I am an avid bread baker, and although I liked the texture of this bread and the lightness, I found it to have a very flat flavor. I made it with all whole wheat as I don't eat any white flour. If I make it again I will definately substitute honey for the sugars and possibly add a TBS molasses. Also, you can add all ingredients into the sponge except the oil, salt and last 10 cups flour- no need to make it so complicated. Just let it bubble for 15 minutes instead of 5. To those who froze dough- just bake all the loaves and freeze the bread, it keeps very well and saves time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This was my first time making homemade bread and it was very good. I used honey instead of brown sugar, like other suggested and it just gave it a little bit of a sweet flavor. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
too dense. dough was crazy sticky even after adding more flour to dry it out. Tasted fine, probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by al

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Just a reminder that the 2/3 cup sugar in step two is brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was the first bread recipe (involving yeast) that I had ever made. It came out excellent and tasted wonder. This bread has a great texture, however, if you want to use it for sandwhich bread, let it sit overnight and it firms up a bit. It is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This is the best bread I have made ever! I have tried lots of recipes and none compare. It was so easy to slice. I made a batch of 3 loaves. Followed directions to the T. Wonderful - even made hamburger buns out of one batch. My only issue was it didn't rise as much as I thought it would. I'm thinking that was my yeast/warm area issue though. Also, I did everything by hand and kneaded the dough by hand. Thank you J. Drury!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States