Fabulous Homemade Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
The recipe 'Simple Wheat Bread' from this website was our long standing favorite for homemade bread for about 4 years, until I just came across this one! The recipe blows my old favorite out of the water. Thanks for sharing this awesomely yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I've been making various types of breads, mainly wheats & multi-grains but this bread is the all around perfect bread for any purpose! It is great for sandwiches as well as to eat fresh from the oven! Unlike most denser bread recipes this one is moist with a fluffy texture! If you want simple goodness follow this recipe exactly or if you're like me & want a touch more sweetness add a Tablespoon or two of Molasses or Honey which kicks it up just a notch! The Brown sugar in this recipe really makes it have more character without overpowering it! This will be my basic bread from now on! It is also the perfect dough for cinnamon rolls & other goodies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Russellville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I used this recipe for my first attempt at making bread, and it turned out wonderful! Although the recipe makes 6 loaves, I scaled it back to make 2 and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinsnestdelights

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, California, USA
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I have made this recipe about 6 times now and have switched up the flour to make it more wheat than white, etc and it has been really good each time. Everyone loves my homemade bread. Even gave it as gifts this year for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Delicious Bread!!!! There are only two of us, and we don't go through bread that fast so I only make one loaf at a time! I think it is a perfect mixture of wheat, white, and oat! I mixed everything by hand, and if it turns out that says a lot! :) Don't overcook your bread tho! I did that on the first batch and it dried out very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjsgirly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I am not one for writing reviews but i decided to write one for this recipe. I haven't bought a loaf of bread from the store in over a year, so naturally i have tried several different recipes to see what bread works best for our family. I have to say that this was the best bread that i have discovered so far. the texture of this bread is unbelievable. the white bread that i have made would dry out quickly and the wheat bread i have tried i could never get to rise properly. This bread stayed nice and soft and chewy. made excellent sandwiches and toast. was also fabulous by itself with a little butter. The recipe itself was too large for my kitchenaid mixer to handle, but i did it the old fashion way. The extra work was well worth it. My family was unanimous in the decision that this will be the bread that we have in the house from now on. If you have any reservations about trying this recipe, don't. although you might want to scale it down. I will say this....i only got 5 loaves because i weighed the dough to be about 1.5 lbs per loaf and i will make them closer to 2 lbs next time. excellent recipe!! thanks so much for giving my family a bread they don't just like...but LOVE!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Love it. Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
yumm homemade bread!!!>3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I was so worried while making this recipe. It's not like any other bread recipe I have ever made. There is no kneading involved and that scared me. This dough is SO sticky and that scared me too! I got out my 32 cup tupperware bowl and just went for it. My whole family is so impressed with this. Like some other suggested, I froze 4 rolls of dough and baked 2. I'm regretting that now! Wish I had baked a 3rd! My VERY picky 10 year old son LOVED this...even ate the crust! He has no idea there's whole wheat flour and oats in this! I will make this again and again. As with all my breads, to form a loaf I roll the dough out flat with a rolling pin and roll it up like cinnamon rolls to get a really great and even texture with no air pockets in the final product. 2 thumbs up from our house on this bread! Make it and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianola, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is the easiest and most delicious bread I have ever made!!!!!! I added Flax Meal, extra oatmeal and extra brown sugar for added flavor and nutrition. Wow, the crust is soft, the texture moist and the flavor is WOW!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States