Fabulous Homemade Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Awesome! Since this recipe makes so much I used it last year as my "food gift" with a jar of homemade jelly. This bread also freezes beautifully. I made mine without a bread machine and it came out perfect, just be sure to use the biggest bowl you have for mixing/rising, you will need it! Happy Baking and thank you to J. Drury for submitting! This recipe has become my everyday bread, I bake a batch freeze all but one loaf and thaw and use them as needed, NO MORE BUYING BREAD FOR ME! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This was so good!! I cut it down to 24 servings and made it in my bread machine. It came out a nice dense, flavorful loaf!! I used All Purpose Flour with an egg white to give it the extra protein that bread flour has in it. This will be my go to recipe from now on!!! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Zuch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This was tasty and easy- especially with the standing mixer. I think I'll do 9x5 loaves next time- the 8x4 is a little tiny for sammies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiebee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I just bought a Bosch Universal Plus...WHAT A MACHINE!! -that's a whol 'nother review! I found this recipe because we are not big fans of 100 percent whole wheat breads...they just dont feel soft enough, we LOVE super soft bread. I thougt I would try this because over 400 people CANNOT be wrong! WELL TEHY WERE NOT WRONG! THis bread is easy to make and uses ingredients I always have on hand. I ended up having to use a cup more of flour as it kept sticking to the bowl (I weighed not scooped the flour, so maybe that's why?) The recipe doesnt say how long to knead it in the machine, so I did 5 minutes on the number 3 speed setting. BOY did this have the best gluten strands ever. The dough is SUPER sticky but reading the reviews, it was what I expected. The dough rose (actually almost tripled) in 30 minutes and it they rose in the pans in 30 minutes (to a HUGE height). The loaves smelled wonderful, baked perfect and are so deliciously soft with the perfect crust! I brushed butter over the tops while loaves were hot which melted in and gave the crust a gorgeous look and taste. I made three loaves and froze the other 3, which I will use for loaf bread and dinner rolls in the not too distant future. The title says it all.....it truly is FABULOUS HOMEMADE BREAD. It's so good it's a shame to put the sandwhich ingredients on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trinicook
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This turned out excellent: light and fluffy. I recommend you use a VERY large bowl, as mine overflowed in in the first rising. Reduce the time if u use non stick and if u make buns or dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trinicook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This is a good, easy, basic bread recipe for those who like to have loaves on hand. It has a nice chew, has a bit of texture, but is still soft enough for those who like all white flour breads and a little bit of sweetness. Next time, I may add a little honey. This is a new 'go to" bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I live in Trinidad, West Indies thats in the Caribbean and I have been searching for a good healthy homemade bread and I will recommend it. My Viking Mixer could not hold the volume so I made it with my hand and I added a 1/4 Cup of Fennel to it and it was GREAT. Thanks for a great Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
We have been trying to get away from buying bread and were having great success with a bread machine recipe. Something happened though and the machine stopped working. We have yet to figure out the problem and were back to buying bread from the store... YUCK! I am happy to report that this will be the last recipe that we need and there will be no more bread from the store! I made many things so far with this recipe: Loaves, dinner rolls, hamburger buns, and cinnamon rolls. I intend to have this be my only yeast bread recipe. My family loves it and they are getting more fiber and nutrition than they realize becuase they don't know what all is in it so I REALLY love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Fabulous doesn't even begin to describe this bread!!!!! So amazing!!!! It is soft and perfect! No, it doesn't fit in a KitchenAid mixer, but I used mine until it was too full and then did the rest by hand. Still came out perfect. I also substituted honey for the brown sugar and replaced 1/3 c of oil with unsweetened applesauce. I only got 5 loaves and I baked 2 and froze the other 3. We'll see what happens with those 3, but of the 2 I baked, I am very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe to the t . Got great bread out of it ! The only thing I did that it didnt call for was kneed the bread a little then formed my loaves . Love this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States