Fabulous Homemade Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2000
Still my favorite!!! I can easily adjust wheat flour, oatmeal, and throw in some cracked wheat and still come out with great flavor and moisture. I haven't found a better recipe YET! even after trying some from Breadworld.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2000
This bread has a great flavor and is so quick and easy - it really only takes 3 hours to have 6 loaves of really great tasting bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2000
Turned out terrible! I'm an experienced bread maker, and this was the worst bread I've ever made. The risen loaves flopped when I set them on the counter after they did their rising in the oven. I'd try this recipe again, but I wouldn't use the bread flour. The flavor and texture was nice, but my loaves are only two inches high!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2000
This recipe had only one downfall--too much for my mixer to handle, so I made one half of the amount. The loaves rose nicely and browned well in the oven. As my husband and daughter would say, "It's a keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2000
I substitute honey for sugar, and reduce the flour to 8 cups. I also knead by hand, in order to get the feel of the finished dough before putting it in a bowl to rise. It makes 4 large loaves. This is by far the best bread recipe I have used, and I have used quite a few. Everyone one wants a loaf or two, so I seem to be making it frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
We recently moved and I couldn't locate my tried and true wheat bread recipe so tried this one. It is wonderful. Everyone really enjoyed it. This will replace the recipe (that I have now found) that I have used for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
Nothing as wonderful as your hands in dough. Brings even the the busiest person back to "earth". Great recipe with just the right texture and feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
I only made half a recipe, but my family could have eaten twice as much. They loved it; and I've added to our Family Favorites cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
I loved this bread! I didn't have bread flour though, so I added 1/2 cup high gluten and the rest all purpose. I also allowed it to rise again after punching it down the first time, then formed the loaves. The texture was perfect--not crumbly or course! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
This recipe was rather easy for a bread recipe and made good bread. There was no way that we could eat 6 loaves of bread before they went bad so after I let the dough rise the first time and shaped the loaves I froze the dough. This was very easy, just once the loaves are shaped cover them in Saran Wrap before they are allowed to rise. Then freeze them in a ziplock bag. I've heard that you can keep the dough like this for up to 3 months, but I am really not sure. When you are ready for a fresh loaf just unwrap the dough and place it in the pan, cover and let rise. It will take several hours to thaw and rise, but it will. A very easy way to always have fresh homemafe bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
636 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOPEFULCRAFTY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States