Fabulous Homemade Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I used this recipe for my first attempt at making bread, and it turned out wonderful! Although the recipe makes 6 loaves, I scaled it back to make 2 and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinsnestdelights

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, California, USA
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I have made this recipe about 6 times now and have switched up the flour to make it more wheat than white, etc and it has been really good each time. Everyone loves my homemade bread. Even gave it as gifts this year for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Delicious Bread!!!! There are only two of us, and we don't go through bread that fast so I only make one loaf at a time! I think it is a perfect mixture of wheat, white, and oat! I mixed everything by hand, and if it turns out that says a lot! :) Don't overcook your bread tho! I did that on the first batch and it dried out very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjsgirly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I am not one for writing reviews but i decided to write one for this recipe. I haven't bought a loaf of bread from the store in over a year, so naturally i have tried several different recipes to see what bread works best for our family. I have to say that this was the best bread that i have discovered so far. the texture of this bread is unbelievable. the white bread that i have made would dry out quickly and the wheat bread i have tried i could never get to rise properly. This bread stayed nice and soft and chewy. made excellent sandwiches and toast. was also fabulous by itself with a little butter. The recipe itself was too large for my kitchenaid mixer to handle, but i did it the old fashion way. The extra work was well worth it. My family was unanimous in the decision that this will be the bread that we have in the house from now on. If you have any reservations about trying this recipe, don't. although you might want to scale it down. I will say this....i only got 5 loaves because i weighed the dough to be about 1.5 lbs per loaf and i will make them closer to 2 lbs next time. excellent recipe!! thanks so much for giving my family a bread they don't just like...but LOVE!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Love it. Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
yumm homemade bread!!!>3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I was so worried while making this recipe. It's not like any other bread recipe I have ever made. There is no kneading involved and that scared me. This dough is SO sticky and that scared me too! I got out my 32 cup tupperware bowl and just went for it. My whole family is so impressed with this. Like some other suggested, I froze 4 rolls of dough and baked 2. I'm regretting that now! Wish I had baked a 3rd! My VERY picky 10 year old son LOVED this...even ate the crust! He has no idea there's whole wheat flour and oats in this! I will make this again and again. As with all my breads, to form a loaf I roll the dough out flat with a rolling pin and roll it up like cinnamon rolls to get a really great and even texture with no air pockets in the final product. 2 thumbs up from our house on this bread! Make it and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianola, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is the easiest and most delicious bread I have ever made!!!!!! I added Flax Meal, extra oatmeal and extra brown sugar for added flavor and nutrition. Wow, the crust is soft, the texture moist and the flavor is WOW!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I made this yesterday. I halved the recipe. It tasted good but it is so dense. I didn't use a bread machine or a mixer so i just kneaded the dough which was hard to do because it was still so wet even after 5 cups of flour. I think it didn't get to rise fully even if I left it to rise for a long time. I wonder what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loislane
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This bread IS fabulous! Not too wheaty or oaty, it's a good sturdy all-purpose bread that's just heavenly slathered with salted butter while still fresh from the oven... sooo worth the steam burns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States