Fabulous Homemade Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This is a reliable straightforward recipe! It is an excellent recipe to use to make sandwich bread. It is firm and easy to slice, but soft. It has whole wheat and oats, but doesn't appear or taste like "healthy" bread to my children, so they eat it without complaint. I cannot make the whole recipe at once-I use my KitchenAid and it is too much. So, I generally make 2/3 of a recipe-roughly 4 loaves (I usually make 3 large loaves). I tried the freezing the raw dough to store it, but I did not like it, so I generally cook all loaves, slice them and freeze them. It works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This is my 3rd time making it. I've shared this bread w/friends and family and they all loved it. I've made rolls, loaves and mini loaves too. The mini loaves are perfect when you slice them they are about the size of crackers, although I cut mine thicker and get maybe 3-4 mini slices. I just add 1 tablespoon of caraway seeds in the dough and it flavors the bread in such a good way. Everyone thought I bought it at a specialty bakery store. HA! Thanks so very much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Make sure you add enough flour, I added a little less than called for and bread was very dense. Still very yummy though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this bread! I just finished making my first six loaf batch and am sure there are many loaves in my future! The recipe was blissfully easy to follow- THANK YOU. I am NOT a baker, or creative in the kitchen, by any means. This was my first attempt at bread (and when I say that- I mean all kinds- including banana breads, boxed breads, etc) so for the bread to turn out as well as it did, it must be wonderful! To give you an idea of how novice I am in the kitchen, when I went to the store to get "bread flour" I ended up buying 3, 5lb bags because I needed 10ish cups of flour. (Now, I am not terribly unintelligent but my mind just doesn't think like a baker! I know a cup doesn't equal a pound but for some reason the number 10 stuck in my mind so I bought 10 pounds plus a little extra just in case... ) When I got home and realized that I had purchased enough flour for 60 loaves of bread I figured I was already doomed. But, 10 cups or so later (and two unopened bags :) ) I am happy to say that the mission was a success! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Ths should be renamed "Dangerous Homemade Bread". Holy cow- this is soooo good. I have to halve the recipe for a couple of resons: 1.We'll eat the 6 loaves in the same amount of time we'd eat 3. (Sadly by "we" I mean me.) And 2.It makes such a HUGE blob of rising dough it surprised my husband who found it overtaking the dishwasher. *That's where I let it rise in my cold, unevenly heated kitchen. I put it in an empty dishwasher and then set it on the "heated dry" setting. Perfect. Anyways- perfect bread. Fluffy and soft, but solid enough to hold up to spreading peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
My family loved this. I had never made bread from scratch before, only in a machine, so I was a little nervous at the start, but this recipe is so easy that I had no trouble. My son told me that I should stop buying bread at the store and just make this all the time. YUMMY!! YUMMY!! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Bread turned out so delicious and hearty. All my family loved it, and it is much more nutritious and cost-effective than store bought bread. Froze the extra loaves so we are stocked up on bread for a while! Excellent as toast. Thanks for this wonderful recipe I will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa luvz2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This recipe is hands-down great! I also used a little elbow grease, and it worked out just fine. A family pleasing winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Forsman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is the most wonderful bread and very easy to make. It's the only bread my husband and I eat now. I make up the entire recipe and then freeze the extra loaves for later. Smells so yummy while toasting in the morning!! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Great recipe! I used my Bosch mixer. I used all fresh ground whole wheat flour (plus the oats) and added 1/4 cup vital wheat gluten. Delicious and all whole grains! I made 4 loaves and a dozen rolls. Next time I may make more rolls. They are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States