Fabulous Homemade Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Wonderful! Easy & healthy. Made only 24 servings, 2 small loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamou, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I would be sure to freeze some of this bread. I really don't understand the problem with 6 loaves if you have a freezer. Just makes your life a little easier. I love freshly made bread. The store stuff just turns me off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Mckenzie Seiber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: West End, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
The bread rose great the first time, but on the second rise it would not rise above the pans. I let it rise for 2 hours instead of 1 and then baked. Surprisingly it wasn't dense. The flavor and texture were good but the tops stayed kind of flat looking like they hadn't risen all the way. Probably wont make this recipe again, but it wasn't horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Blais

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Yes I tried this recipe too with good old fashioned elbow grease too. ?? I only baked it for about 20 minutes and I always brush the tops with margarine or butter, whatever on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
So easy,so good! I'll Use this recipe for the rest of my life. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenna Weinstein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I love this bread! I messed up the recipe and it still turned out great. I misread the steps and used all white sugar instead of brown and then just added some honey to compensate for it. I was nervous about having six loaves of bad bread but it turned out amazing and my family loved it! It was also incredibly easy considering I didn't use an electric mixer or a bread machine and I've never made bread before. thanks for this recipe, way better than store bought bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaila Schumacher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Love this recipe. I made it exactly like the original recipe the first time and it was good but sweeter then I wanted for sandwiches, so the second time I made it I only used 1 tbsp & 1 tsp of the brown sugar and left the white sugar out completely and it was perfect. I minimize the recipe to only make 2 loaves at a time though. The only other thing for me was the rise time in loaf pans is longer then 1 hour to get bread as high as I wanted. Overall I love this recipe and it's my new go to recipe when making homemade bread. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This bread is great. I halved the recipe and it still came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I wasn't positive I was going to do this right, but the directions were spot on, and my children LOVED rolling out the dough, and then watching it rise, then of course eating it! If you haven't tried this recipe I suggest you make it. It does have a bit of a breakfast (wheat) taste to it, but it's so wonderful! thank you Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Loved this recipe especially since it mixes very well with my kitchen aid stand mixer. I have made this at least six times and it always turns out perfectly. I substituted Robin Hood Multi-Grain bread flour for the 10 cups of bread flour so it has lots of seeds incorporated into it. I found it made smaller loaves than I like so I just make it into 5 loaves and they come out nice and big but the slices still fit in the toaster without trimming which is a problem I've have with other recipes. Also I've found that this bread doesn't get stale in a couple of days. I've had a loaf for a week in the bread box on the counter and the last slice is just as fresh as the first. I live in a dry climate so you might have a mold problem if your climate is very humid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States