Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I wish to goodness I'd read the reviews of this recipe like I did of all the other recipes I looked at! There was not enough chocolate in the recipe - the finished product bore no resemblance to the picture displayed! Cooking time was so very inadequate - at 35 minutes the very outsides of the cake were cooked but the inner 3/4 was still raw and wet. Would not make this one again at all and would encourage others to give it a miss as it has been published. I have since made it again in a 23 x 28cm rectangle pan (line with foil/baking paper and spray with oil) without the boiling water but with the addition of 250grams choc chips, and by increasing the temperature and cooking time to 30 minutes at 175C then increasing to 200C for 10 minutes. Pour the icing on when still warm and leave overnight before slicing. The outsides of the cake will be light and cakey and the inner parts will be denser and "fudgier". These changes resulted in the cake being a hit at work - although it was still seen as overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
The cake itself was delicious and I took people's advice and substituted one cup of coffee for the one cup of water. The only "complaint" I have is that the frosting was extremely sweet, but the cake itself will soon be a staple and go-to chocolate cake recipe in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I'm not a huge cake fan, but this was pretty good. I made a half batch in an 8x8. Instead of using a half egg and half chocolate square, I followed others advice and used 1 egg and 2 oz of chocolate (instead of 1.5 of each). I also used plain yogurt instead of sour cream because it's what we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
made this cake....and it turned out fantastic.... only used 2 cups of brown sugar one packed one not. Also followed the advice of another reviewer used 3 semi sweet chocolate and 2 unsweeten chocolate squares, also made a chocolate icing instead of the one here.. a favorite with my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Delicious and easy. LOved the brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was my first time making this yummy chocolate cake on a snowed-in day. Couple changes: mayo instead of sour cream, semisweet chocolate instead of unsweetened, little less brown sugar & hot coffee in place of water. Frosting: A white chocolate (Ghirardelli), cream cheese frosting was used instead of the suggested caramel icing. Very delicious I must say. My husband added..."Save this recipe, I like it a lot." Yes, we'll keep it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I'm from the caribbean and always looking for famous recipes with a twist. I love chocolate cake and this one is indeed worth the time. It was solo moist that it broke when coming out of pan. I added pureed strawberries in cream cheese frosting. My friends came by just to the it out. Big hit. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kingstown, Saint George Parish, Saint Vincent And The Grenadines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENARM
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I needed a heavy cake as I wanted to fill it with a decadent fudge filling. This was perfect. It was moist and flavourful and supported the fudge (and a thin layer of raspberry preserves) exactly as I was hoping. I iced it with white chocolate icing and sprinkled crushed candy canes over. It was the piece de la resistance of Christmas dinner. Labour intensive, yes, but it was a special cake for a special occasion and well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I've tried this twice, and both times the center of the cake remained gluey, no matter how long I cooked it. I followed the recipe exactly both times, and it was a complete and utter disaster. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
this cake was okay, it is really moist which i like. I added the coffee as suggested which gave it a nice kick. Mine cooked longer than 35 minutes, close to 45. although the cake was okay, I think it needs a different icing than the one this recipe recommends. Another thing to note, do not let the icing completely cool because this makes it hard to spread nicely, my mistake was I left it to cool for too long and I ended up with a not so presentable spread. I am going to try this recipe again and use a different icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States