Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I made this cake as a special request, and i royally messed up when making it. That step about adding the boiling water? Yeah... I wad so busy yakking that I forgot. I ended up with a thick batter, but it was working, so it didn't click until the cupcakes were halfway done baking and I opened the microwave to find the water. Crud. I mixed a little water into the batter I had left, so those cupcakes came out normal and quite perfect and yummy. As for the first 3 dozen... This recipe was so awesome that they were totally salvageable! They had fallen in the middle and overflowed out the sides, and they were more like thick, fudgy brownies. So after they cooled, I flipped each over and cut off the edges. Then, I filled them in with chocolate buttercream icing. No one knew any difference! Yummy! I uploaded a photo of the near-catastrophe; look for the side-by-side with Christmas cupcakes on the right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Made this cake for a dear friend's birthday and it came out perfect and so very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: June Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Awful. I made this cake following the directions to the letter and found it to be bitter with a dry texture. I decided to try again (I had eggs and sour cream that needed to be used up otherwise I would not have wasted time) following the recommendations from other members. No luck. There is a lack of chocolate flavour and richness even though I used good quality chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrudyNH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Wow, just wow!!! I am an avid dessert maker & this was just what I was looking for!! It was dense , but not too dense, moist & fudgey! What I won't do again is use parchment paper to line the pans (I did two rounds) as it made the sides dent in on parts around the cake. I could have cut the edges, but my 12 year old daughter told me not to. The icing I used was horrible (Fudgey icing on this site) -it was more like a thick glaze!! The deliciousness of the cake itself saved the day!! Try it exactly as is, you won't regret it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2zzredhead

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
There was not enough chocolate in the recipe - the finished product bore no resemblance to the picture displayed! Cooking time was so very inadequate - at 35 minutes the very outsides of the cake were cooked but the inner 3/4 was still raw and wet. I have since made it again in a 23 x 28cm rectangle pan (line with foil/baking paper and spray with oil) without the boiling water but with the addition of 250grams choc chips, and by increasing the temperature and cooking time to 30 minutes at 175C then increasing to 200C for 10 minutes. Pour the icing on when still warm and leave overnight before slicing. The outsides of the cake will be light and cakey and the inner parts will be denser and "fudgier". These changes resulted in the cake being a hit at work - although it was still seen as overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
The cake itself was delicious and I took people's advice and substituted one cup of coffee for the one cup of water. The only "complaint" I have is that the frosting was extremely sweet, but the cake itself will soon be a staple and go-to chocolate cake recipe in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I'm not a huge cake fan, but this was pretty good. I made a half batch in an 8x8. Instead of using a half egg and half chocolate square, I followed others advice and used 1 egg and 2 oz of chocolate (instead of 1.5 of each). I also used plain yogurt instead of sour cream because it's what we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
made this cake....and it turned out fantastic.... only used 2 cups of brown sugar one packed one not. Also followed the advice of another reviewer used 3 semi sweet chocolate and 2 unsweeten chocolate squares, also made a chocolate icing instead of the one here.. a favorite with my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Delicious and easy. LOved the brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was my first time making this yummy chocolate cake on a snowed-in day. Couple changes: mayo instead of sour cream, semisweet chocolate instead of unsweetened, little less brown sugar & hot coffee in place of water. Frosting: A white chocolate (Ghirardelli), cream cheese frosting was used instead of the suggested caramel icing. Very delicious I must say. My husband added..."Save this recipe, I like it a lot." Yes, we'll keep it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States