Fabulous Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
The husband gobbled up three servings! I did as others suggested and went with Key Lime Yoplait NonFat yogurt instead of Lemon, pecans instead of walnuts, seedless green grapes instead of celery, and mandarin oranges instead of a nectarine (but only because nectarines aren't in season). I cut up the apples and put the yogurt in right away to keep them turning brown, then put in the grapes. Don't put in the mandarin oranges, dried cranberries, and pecans until right before serving to keep the oranges from disintegrating (stir them carefully) and to keep the cranberries firm and the pecans crunchy. I strained the yogurt with cheesecloth, and I guess I needed to double the cheesecloth again because some of the yogurt went through. (If you don't strain the yogurt, some of the runny liquid accumulates on the bottom of your fruit salad bowl. Truthfully, I wouldn't know since the hubby wolfed it down so fast! :D)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
I prepared a huges amount of this for a recent holiday open house and it was indeed fabulous! I added green and red grapes and several types of crisp apples. Also mandarin oranges and canned apricots (I'll leave those out next time -- too soft). I followed another reader's advice and added the cranberries just before serving. I would suggest you do this with the nuts too if you like chewy and crunchy. The key, I think, is that lemon yogurt. Seems no matter what fruit you use, that yogurt sets it off just right. It reminded me of a wonderfully updated Waldorf salad. There were no kids at my open house, so I have no idea if they would like it -- but I bet they would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I also doubled this recipe and took it to Christmas dinner. I used 2 red apples, 2 green apples, a can of mandarine oranges, celery, 1 container each of lemon and vanilla yogurt, and I added the dried cranberries and walnuts just before serving to preserve texture and crunch. I received several compliments on the salad, and my husband loved it. (For next time, I will probably strain the yogurts first using a coffee filter, as there was quite an accumulation of liquid at the bottom of the dish.) Very enjoyable salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
This salad is soooo refreshing. It has become a family favorite which they don't mind having 4 to 5 times a month. The lemon yogurt is great, but so is vanilla and key lime. I have also cut the sweetness of the other flavors of yogurt by adding a half carton of plain non-fat yogurt to the flavored one. By using half plain and half flavored, the taste of the fruit is allowed to shine through. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Wow! This definitely is "Fabulous Fruit Salad" bursting with vibrant color and flavor! I loved the crunch the celery and walnuts give this - it kinda reminds me a bit of a Waldorf salad. I toasted my walnuts for a bit more flavor and used vanilla yogurt and added a bit of fresh lemon juice and lemon zest. Very nice presentation and definitely "holiday-worthy"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2002
We love this in the Gless household! Fast, Easy and Good for you! Try it with pecans and carmel yogurt. Or, slivered almonds and vanilla yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alto, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lowell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This was so easy and SO good!! I took it to a brunch that featured only breakfast foods (maybe we should have eaten earlier in the day- ha, ha!), so I skipped the celery and used mandarin oranges and red seedless grapes instead. I also added the dried cranberries and walnuts just before serving. I will make this again and again. Thanks, Tracy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
Very yummy. Tastes creamy as if it were made with whipping cream, instead it's no-fat yogurt! A total success at our last BBQ. I substituted a lot of Tracy's fruits (added bananas, raisins instead of cranberries, no celery, no nectarines, added grapes and strawberries), but it was just as delicious. Will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This was such a quick, easy, and healthy recipe! My husband and I loved it--fought over the left overs! I left out the celery and walnuts then used a can of mandarin oranges instead of nectarines. It was great! The lemon yogurt is definately the must in this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
I absolutely loved this fruit salad. Some fruit salads can be too sweet, but this one was sweet and refreshing. Everyone I served it to had second or third helpings. I don't think I'll be making any other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States