Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Delicious, great for bread & butter, or for dips! However, as I was reading the reviews, I noticed that Liz, who submitted the recipe, gave the proper direction as to how she prepares this recipe (about 9 reviews below this one). I'm confused Liz, as to why you would go through all of the trouble killing your arm, not to mention taking over an hour of stirring vigorously when you could simply knead it for the 8 minutes, let it rise for the hour & be done! I prepared this recipe as directed on the site & it came out beautiful! By the way, I added the 2 cups of water in step 1. Thanks Liz :), & thanks allrecipes for the modification!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
The editor changed the original recipe a bit. I do it this way: after mixing all ingredients together, let rest 10 minutes (leaving spoon in batter). Stir vigorously, let rest another 10 minutes. Do this a total on 5 times instead of the traditional rising. After the 5th rest, turn onto a floured board and knead lightly (I barely knead at all). I then shape the loaves and continue as in the posted version of the recipe. When shaping the loaves, I will sometimes put a mixture of basil, oregano, garlic, butter/olive oil, and onion on it cinnamon roll style before rolling it for special, pretty garlic loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Superb - moist and chewy, just what french bread should be. I cut the recipe in 1/2 too and it turned out two small round loaves. One small loaf is perfect for one dinner. I used 3 cups bread flour, 1 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon sugar and 2.5 tablespoon olive oil. I dusted one loaf with dried basil/oregano and parmesan and left the other one plain. The herb one went first! So easy and fail safe. Great for beginner bakers. TIP- Be sure you add the sugar to the water/yeast mixture to help it proof. Also, after the first rise, punch down the dough to rid of all the air bubbles inside. This will make dividing the dough much easier. No need for a Kitchenaid, this can easily be done by hand. TIP - don't let this rise too long, 1 hour is plenty. If it over-rises, the texture will turn into regular white bread, versus a chewy french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
These loaves baked up beautifully- nice and golden. I didn't have cornmeal, but I dusted the baking pans with a tiny bit of flour, and they turned out fine. The texture turned out perfect- crusty on the outside, fluffy and soft on the inside. This recipe was exactly what I was looking for; will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawavediva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Good recipe. Makes crunchy crust. I used a mixer and dough hook for mine. Don't over mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
Crunchy on the outside,soft on the inside. Flavor was a little bland first time around. Increased the salt with the second batch. Everyone enjoyed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
After spending 2 weeks in France and coming back home, I was dying for some good French bread...this recipe is great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandi
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
First time making french bread and it turned out fantastic!!!!!! Followed recipe exactly. Will be making it often. I have just made it again for the second time but this time made individual loaves for bread bowls to see if it would work, happy to say they turned out even better than the big loaves! Will be making "Super Soup Bowls" for Super Bowl Sunday!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
Soooo good! Even family members who are not bread lovers loved this!!! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I have been trying different breads lately and this is the first that has come out light and not heavy as a rock. The recipe is very easy and could have easily given me 3 loafs of bread. I used honey in place of sugar and olive oil instead of veggie oil. This was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States