Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
This recipe was excellent. It took longer than the recipe calls for to make, but well worth the wait. It's yeast bread, what do you expect? I didn't use a spoon, used my hands, it was easier to mix that way. Overall, I liked this recipe and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
I have already used this recipe three times and am making it at the moment. Really nice bread. It does wear your arms out but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
This bread was wonderful. It was easy to make and very good to eat. I would recomend it to everyone to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midvale, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
I LOVE this recipe! I use it almost everyday, and i almost always double or even triple the recipe to make loaves for my friends and family and they all love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
The editor changed the original recipe a bit. I do it this way: after mixing all ingredients together, let rest 10 minutes (leaving spoon in batter). Stir vigorously, let rest another 10 minutes. Do this a total on 5 times instead of the traditional rising. After the 5th rest, turn onto a floured board and knead lightly (I barely knead at all). I then shape the loaves and continue as in the posted version of the recipe. When shaping the loaves, I will sometimes put a mixture of basil, oregano, garlic, butter/olive oil, and onion on it cinnamon roll style before rolling it for special, pretty garlic loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
Delicious! The crust did not turn out as crunchy as a true "baguette", but it was certainly exactly what I get in the stores. I used some baguette pans to give the loaves a nice shape and went with a longer second rise for less density. It turned out great. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
Loved it. Have now made it several times and am already getting requests to bring it to dinners and parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
Recipe turned out great, but there was no direction for when to add the 2 cups water. I suppose I guessed right, but other beginners might have trouble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
Crunchy on the outside,soft on the inside. Flavor was a little bland first time around. Increased the salt with the second batch. Everyone enjoyed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
After spending 2 weeks in France and coming back home, I was dying for some good French bread...this recipe is great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States