Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I made this in essence just as it was written. I only baked it for 30 minutes and it seems to be quite done. I also had neither cornmeal nor sesame seeds but they weren't missed. I will probably add them next time though as that sounds good. Great recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wiley
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I chose this recipe, in part, due to the fact that it was not a bread machine recipe. I don't have a bread machine, but this recipe was so easy, I wondered what I could possibly need one for. I followed the recipe exactly, except I havled it and only made one loaf, and I did not add the seeds (but I did use the cornmeal). As I said before, I did not use a bread machine, and I did not use a stand or hand mixer either. I made it completely with my own two hands. I did not have a difficult time incorporating my flour or kneading. My dough rose beautifully, and baked up perfectly in exactly 35 minutes. It had a lovely, crunchy crust and I did not mist anything, use a bowl of water, or throw ice cubes in my oven. I agree that this looked more like a loaf of Italian bread, but I thought it did taste like French bread. I bet you could form your loaves thinner to look more like a traditional French bread if you want to. This recipe gets five stars from me for ease, clear directions, and a gorgeous end result! My boyfriend loved it, and right after dinner, asked me to pack some up so he could take it to his mother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paul's Cooking
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Came out great. Only addition is adding poppy seeds to top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Halved the recipe and the dough was very sticky. Had to keep adding flour to achieve the right consistency. The bread baked beautifully though, texture was great. However, the bread lacked flavor, really bland, perhaps I needed to add salt to compensate for the extra flour....?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
To make this recipe more simple, I didn't roll the dough out. Instead, after I let the dough rise the first time, I made to halves and stretched each to 12 inches. Then I let them rise a second time without even covering them, till 2x in size. They turned out wonderfully. Next time I might put cornmeal on the sides of the dough out. There was one part that stuck to the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Better than store bought, easy to follow recipe. Crusty on the outside chewy on the inside. I made two large loafs from this recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvisgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This turned out great. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is a great basic bread recipe sometimes i will use 2c white flour and 1 c whole wheat flour it gives the bread a nutty taste that I just love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sara a

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is a great beginners' bread. It turns out wonderfully every time for me. I follow the recipe exactly most of the time. I don't always have sesame seeds. The more you bake it the better it always turns out. It makes four loaves for me which means I always give away 2 or 3 loaves and people love it. :D I recommend this recipe to everyone, especially beginners. Also wanted to add that I do knead this to a stiff dough and it really is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I'm not a great bread maker and it's something I've always struggled with so I went into this with low expectations. I halved the recipe and only made 1 loaf just in case. Boy was a I regretting that! This was so good. I made it with the American Lasagna on this site and it was literally gone after one meal. I will be making this again for my stepdad's birthday this weekend. So so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States