Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I make this all the time and it's a household favorite. I have to halve the recipe to use my Kitchenaid stand mixer to knead the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
So good..my favorite french bread recipe and the dough is a dream to work with. You will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Not too difficult, very tasty. I ended up making three loaves because I wanted them to be a little skinnier for subs. The third loaf I spread butter and olive oil with herbs and garlic before I rolled the loaf. It turned out fantastic. The leftover plain bread made excellent French toast a couple days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This is the 2nd time that I have made this bread. I could not ask for anything better. I love this bread. It is easy to make. It rises beautifully, and I have added several flavors to the bread. The first time I made it I did the first loaf just as french bread. I did the second loaf as cheddar cheese and jalapeno. The second time, (see photo). I did the first loaf as rolls. I made six rolls. The second loaf I did mixing in chopped sun dried tomatoes and chunks of mozzarella cheese. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Photo by sarabella
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
My first attempt at making bread (loaves) and they turned out BEAUTIFULLY! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I followed it to a T and the results were phenomenal. I'll be making this often. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarabella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These loaves are so versatile. I made them as directed the first time but decided to get creative with my next batch. Followed the recipe again except to brush olive oil, dried basil, minced garlic and a dusting of parmigiano reggiano before rolling up and the final rise. The other loaf I spread margarine on the dough and sprinkled brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg before rolling up for final rise. Both came out awesome!! The final time I did the cinnamon and sugar loaf but this time cut them into discs and let them proof before baking. Melted butter, brown sugar cinnamon and a dash of salt and poured over the finished rolls. My family ate them all immediately and demanded more! Thanks Liz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I doubled the recipe and made 8 baguettes. I also added two tablespoons minced garlic. Very good French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I have been on a quest for the best french bread recipe this past month, and this one nails it. I'm not sure what made it different - the oil, which wasn't a part of some other recipes? The directions on how to roll it out? All I know is that this is delicious, with just the kind of crust I've been looking for. The search is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Wieland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
After looking at many reviews I had decided to try Liz's french bread recipe. I am so happy that I did (the family too...)! I followed her directions exactly as written. When the bread came out of the oven, it was a beautiful golden brown, crispy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside. A wonderful recipe that is definitely a keeper! Thank you Liz!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
My bread is pretty good but I definitely should have gone with my gut and pulled them out at 25 minutes instead of letting it go until 30. My bread got a little bit past golden brown and has a tough crust that i'm not crazy about. I can't even imagine if I had let it go any longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States