Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I like this recipe. It's great, it doesn't come out as fluffy for me, but more dense. My husband loves it and so does my son. The simplicity of it makes it an ease to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamalicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Midnite Myst
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Wonderful french bread, nice and crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside. I used my mixer to mix it instead of by hand and it was so easy and came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Midnite Myst

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Well, I had two different french bread recipies printed from this site and started making one of them. After the ONE packet of yeast had dissolved, I then continued by making this one. I didn't realize what I had done until after the dough had risen for an hour and I didn't really expect it to turn out with only half the amount of yeast it was supposed to have. The loaves didn't rise too much the second time, so I put them in a warm oven with a pot of boiling water and they grew to just the right size. I spritzed them with water before baking and then two more times within the first ten minutes to ensure a crispy crust. The texture of the bread was just right and I'm anxious to try it again, but with the right amount of yeast next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Air force wife
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
OMG I LOVE this recipe!! I had never made bread before and I was told not to expect it to turn out on my first try, but it turned out wonderful. I cut the recipe in half and made as stated, with the exception of the sesame seeds which I left out. Definitely a keeper!!! I only baked for 25 minutes - 35 minutes would have been too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I love this bread. Its fairly easy to make with the kitchenaid mixer. I follow the directions for no bread machine that someone was so nice to post. Even makes for great garlic bread the next day or the day after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southampton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Not sure if anyone has already stated a definitive hypothesis, but I'm pretty sure that the texture problems (large crumb) are due to All Recipe's modification of the recipe. If you've read the submitter's review that explains the original instructions, the dough is supposed to be stirred over various periods of an hour. However, as I just noticed when I prepared the dough, the All Recipes version calls for the dough to be kneaded which requires a great deal more flour. This is why people are complaining about sticky dough and the need for 1-2 cups extra flour than is called for in the ingredient list. The "stick" problem wouldn't be a factor if you just had to stir as opposed to knead. Now, I am making the dough today for sub-style sandwiches, so I didn't mind if the texture was more dense. Thus, I chose to prepare it by kneading this time. The next time I am looking for a more "authentic" French bread, I will try the original method and update my findings here! Test this out and see if I'm right! Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenMachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Moist, a little dense, but soft! I substituted warm milk for the 2 cups water. Also, be sure to use more sugar and salt in this recipe. I think next time, I'll make it as a normal sandwich loaf, the texture is perfect for sandwiches. Also, be very wary of the baking time... mine was done perfectly in 19mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
incredible! It's amazing to see how this little bit of dough makes a huge quantity of bread! This bread rises so much that you end up falling in love with it like if it were a child you have raised! tastes amazing, and my dad even had a hard time believing I used a normal oven to make it. Tastes great and looks very professional. Thank you so much for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This is very good. Made one loaf for the breakfast sausage bread on the site and then made the other loaf as directed for a dinner for a friend. So didn't try it as directed, but very good bread in the sausage bread. I didn't do an egg wash--just a wash of water, and it was really brown. Even took it out 7 min earlier, so I would recommend you watch and base it more on your oven. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
WOW..used my bread machine on dough cycle, fast and easy. Brushed bread with cold H20 while baking, turned out nice and crispy! BEST FRENCH BREAD EVER FOR ME, thanks so much it is very much a keeper for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States