Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I'm not sure if I did something wrong or what but it was soo sticky. I had to keep adding flour again and again to even get it off my fingers. It actually turned out well and tastes pretty good but it was so frustrating that it didn't feel like bread dough should. I will try again - see if maybe I just messed it up so will put it at a neutral 3 for now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Délicieux, tout simplement parfait. This has to be the best bread I have baked to date. I followed the recipe exactly, no need to change anything at all. I will certainly be baking this again. Thank you for this excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
BEST french bread I have ever tasted!! I used one loaf for the overnight french toast and it was YUMMY!! The first time I made this I made them into french loaves. The second time I rolled out the bread and rolled it up the short way and put them into 2 bread pans. This is my new everyday bread recipe. Not one bit dry even after a week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGBOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Thank you thank you for this recipe! I have never reviewed a recipe but just had to comment. I have never been successful in my bread-baking attempts until now! Everyone loved it! I followed the recipe exactly and all was perfect! --Cannot thank you enough:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Mis
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This is a great crusty bread. It went good with our lasagna dinner. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Mis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reedsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I made this in essence just as it was written. I only baked it for 30 minutes and it seems to be quite done. I also had neither cornmeal nor sesame seeds but they weren't missed. I will probably add them next time though as that sounds good. Great recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wiley
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I chose this recipe, in part, due to the fact that it was not a bread machine recipe. I don't have a bread machine, but this recipe was so easy, I wondered what I could possibly need one for. I followed the recipe exactly, except I havled it and only made one loaf, and I did not add the seeds (but I did use the cornmeal). As I said before, I did not use a bread machine, and I did not use a stand or hand mixer either. I made it completely with my own two hands. I did not have a difficult time incorporating my flour or kneading. My dough rose beautifully, and baked up perfectly in exactly 35 minutes. It had a lovely, crunchy crust and I did not mist anything, use a bowl of water, or throw ice cubes in my oven. I agree that this looked more like a loaf of Italian bread, but I thought it did taste like French bread. I bet you could form your loaves thinner to look more like a traditional French bread if you want to. This recipe gets five stars from me for ease, clear directions, and a gorgeous end result! My boyfriend loved it, and right after dinner, asked me to pack some up so he could take it to his mother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paul's Cooking
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Came out great. Only addition is adding poppy seeds to top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Halved the recipe and the dough was very sticky. Had to keep adding flour to achieve the right consistency. The bread baked beautifully though, texture was great. However, the bread lacked flavor, really bland, perhaps I needed to add salt to compensate for the extra flour....?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
To make this recipe more simple, I didn't roll the dough out. Instead, after I let the dough rise the first time, I made to halves and stretched each to 12 inches. Then I let them rise a second time without even covering them, till 2x in size. They turned out wonderfully. Next time I might put cornmeal on the sides of the dough out. There was one part that stuck to the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States