Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
this is such a good recipe...i halved it for just one loaf and did it all in the bread machine...forsure i will make again...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Very delicious. This was my first try making bread from scratch and it was very easy. Halved the recipe for only one loaf and it still turned out both visually pleasing, and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This is a great recipe! I just received a French bread loaf pan for my birthday, and was eager to try it out! This looked like a great, simple recipe to try out. It worked perfectly! I didn't change anything, except I skipped the cornmeal (it didn't work...my pan is the type with tiny holes on the bottom, and the cornmeal wouldn't have stuck) and I also skipped the sesame seeds, mostly because I forgot about them :) The only thing I would change about this recipe is the amount of salt...I felt that it was a bit much. The bread was great, though...with an awesome, soft texture and a crispy, crackly crust, which was probably because of the pan. Thanks for sharing the recipe! I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Used this recipe to make bread for the very first time, and it turned out fabulously! The instructions walked me right through it and I didn't have a single problem, although I kept expecting something to go horribly wrong. Found that it rose incredibly well (doubled in 40 minutes) when left on the counter beside a pot simmering on the nearby stove. Served it with a homemade spaghetti sauce, and was a total hit with the guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by earth3rd
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I followed the instructions as carefully as I could. I lined a baking sheet with parchment paper and sprinkled cornmeal on the paper. I really didn't know how to seal the seam, and used the egg white to try and glue it. I found out later from reading Julia Child that is not exactley how you seal a seam. My bread turned out exactley like white bread, not really a french loaf. My crust was soft and the insides was soft like white bread. My cooking time was a lot less than 35 minutes. I baked it for 20 minutes and it was burning on the bottom. The top crust looked great though. I checked it with a thermometer and it came out to 198 F, so I took it out of the oven 15 minutes a head of time. During baking the cornmeal and parchment paper was starting to burn. The bottom of the loaf did burn as well and I had to cut off the burned bit, the rest was really good though. This was the first time I ever tried to bake bread. I will try it again. My family enjoyed the bread and it is getting all eaten. The bread cuts very nice and makes great sandwich type of bread. I believe I need to get rid of the bakeing sheets however and next time I'll bake it on stone or ceramic tiles instead of metal. According to Julia Child there should be a 9x12x2 pan with water on the bottom rack and insert into that pan a very hot rock or brick to make steam for the first 5 minutes of baking. She also suggest spritzing the loaf with a mist of water a few times in the beginning to make crust crunchier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth3rd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I make these almost twice a month, and it's so good! Sometimes I put a little butter and garlic powder on the spread out dough before I roll it up. Delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is the best french bread recipe I have ever tried!.. I love that it tastes even better the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I'm not sure if I did something wrong or what but it was soo sticky. I had to keep adding flour again and again to even get it off my fingers. It actually turned out well and tastes pretty good but it was so frustrating that it didn't feel like bread dough should. I will try again - see if maybe I just messed it up so will put it at a neutral 3 for now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Délicieux, tout simplement parfait. This has to be the best bread I have baked to date. I followed the recipe exactly, no need to change anything at all. I will certainly be baking this again. Thank you for this excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
BEST french bread I have ever tasted!! I used one loaf for the overnight french toast and it was YUMMY!! The first time I made this I made them into french loaves. The second time I rolled out the bread and rolled it up the short way and put them into 2 bread pans. This is my new everyday bread recipe. Not one bit dry even after a week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Angie Bodholdt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States