Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I always thought making bread was difficult. Not anymore! I even used all purpose flour and it turned out pretty good. I used half of the ingredients and it was no sweat. We will make it every week, if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandi
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
First time making french bread and it turned out fantastic!!!!!! Followed recipe exactly. Will be making it often. I have just made it again for the second time but this time made individual loaves for bread bowls to see if it would work, happy to say they turned out even better than the big loaves! Will be making "Super Soup Bowls" for Super Bowl Sunday!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Thank you!! First time I made anything with yeast, was very nervous. The recipe was very easy and the loaves came out great! Perfect on the outside and inside. Big Hit w/ the kids. Made pizza bread for them and they loved it. Going to try this as a pizza crust, will let you know how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Make sure loaves cool completely; if put away slightly warm, the nice crust texture is ruined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
this was fantastic so easy and really good taste would not change a thing other than double the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Love it, would make thi one again, good base for French bread. Would like to find one a little sweeter though if possible, thus the 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bountiful-life

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Love this!!! Thanks so much; love to bake but haven't really attempted french bread before. This completely hit the spot for fresh bread with that awesome sesame flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
went together well and easy enough to knead, I added 1/4 tsp more salt as others suggested, made and compared it to Jenn Halls Recipe from this site on the same day using same amount of yeast for both (2 pkgs.). This one was okay in taste, the other far better (crunchier-I threw ice cubes in oven for both recipes, as some suggested, and flavor better than my favorite bakery) Have to say jenn's recipe a little harder to mix as I don't have a kitchen aid machine. Her dough seemed heavier but hands down the family picked it "Blind taste test"!!! I don't need to give this another shot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
this is such a good recipe...i halved it for just one loaf and did it all in the bread machine...forsure i will make again...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Very delicious. This was my first try making bread from scratch and it was very easy. Halved the recipe for only one loaf and it still turned out both visually pleasing, and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States